nineteen days

day sixteen

Posted in the fast - 2012 by amysahba on March 17, 2012

“Remember not your own limitations; the help of God will come to you. Forget yourself. God’s help will surely come! When you call on the Mercy of God waiting to reinforce you, your strength will be tenfold.

 ‘Abdu’l-Bahá

“You have demonstrated in the example of your lives that the proper response to oppression is neither to succumb in resignation nor to take on the characteristics of the oppressor. The victim of oppression can transcend it through an inner strength that shields the soul from bitterness and hatred and which sustains consistent, principled action.”

The Universal House of Justice, to the Bahá’ís of Iran


mauricio dumet/right (atlanta, u.s.a.): Oh … this year has been intense!

Going out of that comfort zone and starting over somewhere completely different than what one is used to have proven to be a tough experience. I’ve been so focused on what’s going to happen with my career that sometime along the way I’ve allowed myself to fall in this material and hectic swirl.  The Fast has freed me from all of this!  It has allowed me time to reflect and disconnect from the things that don’t matter. While everyone is worrying about what and where to eat during the scheduled lunch time, I’ve been able to take walks and enjoy nature, regain some peace of mind and slow down to enjoy and be content. The Fast has brought clarity and reminded me of the things that matter the most…the things that connect me to my family and the Faith.

kat eghdamian/left (geneva, switzerland): I was moved by the call of the Universal House of Justice to bring consolation to the hearts of the Bahá’ís in Iran by offering prayers for them during this month of fasting. The world is in turmoil and the tribulations inflicted upon humanity are intensifying. The time when “love will ultimately conquer hate and enmity” often seems far from reality. But little by little, day by day, through concerted efforts and consistent, principled action, oppression can and will be transcended. I hope these two photographs depict the inner strength displayed by the “steadfast followers of Bahá’u’lláh in that land” and we continue to be inspired by their example and perform acts worthy of their sacrifices.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. amysahba said, on March 18, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    what a precious tribute, Kat…
    and mauricio – i love the contrast of your two photos… branches heavy with blossoms, while others are still waiting for their spring.

  2. Iain Simmons (@iainsimmons) said, on March 18, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    The whole right/left switch confused me there for a second… I’m not as sharp during this time!

    Confusion aside, these are beautiful words reflected in beautiful photos.

  3. Kat Eghdamian said, on March 19, 2012 at 4:27 am

    Thanks, Amy. I was a little concerned that my post may not ‘fit’ with whatever Mauricio was going to do but when I saw the colours of his photos and how they complemented mine, I smiled. I love this project!

  4. Patricia Dumet said, on March 21, 2012 at 10:25 am

    Mauricio, thanks for the beautiful quotation and your reflection. I also love the trees. The one full of blossoms made me think that a new day is coming and the other tree represents the ending of the year and the things we leave behind. Beautiful pictures!
    Kat, I was also moved by the call of the Universal House of Justice. This was a great opportunity to be spiritually connected to our beloved friends in Iran. Very nice pictures too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

