nineteen days

day three

Posted in day three, the fast - 2008 by leila on March 5, 2008

The All-Knowing Physician hath His finger on the pulse of mankind. He perceiveth the disease, and prescribeth, in His unerring wisdom, the remedy. Every age hath its own problem, and every soul its particular aspiration. The remedy the world needeth in its present-day afflictions can never be the same as that which a subsequent age may require. Be anxiously concerned with the needs of the age ye live in, and centre your deliberations on its exigencies and requirements.”

Bahá’u’lláh


amy: today I contemplated losing my temper. several times. and then I took a deep breath, closed my eyes and focused on what was positive, happy and beautiful in my life. I could think of so many things, I was overwhelmed with gratitude and I couldn’t help but smile.

leila: i was so thankful to have so much natural beauty in my environment today. it is soothing and grants perspective. i find that i am only hungry around mealtimes—a sudden pang. it’s so regular i can basically keep time by it. yesterday i learned that four billion of the world’s people live on less than two dollars a day. together with my readings for school i am studying “The Prosperity of Humankind“. this is so important to me, to think about what can happen in this world in the light of spiritual as well as material advancement.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. golriz said, on March 5, 2008 at 5:05 am

    i love the juxtaposition of these colors and images.
    and i love you two for sharing your dawns and dusks.
    x

  2. Sarah said, on March 5, 2008 at 6:17 am

    At 1:11 p.m. I suddenly felt very hungry, but it went away, and I knew I would be eating after sunset. Leila’s comment is a good reminder of the people and children who do not know when their next meal will be. Amy, your comment about wanting to lose your temper made me chuckle. I think we all know how that feels!

  3. limonana said, on March 5, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    so perceptive the both of you! i love hearing your reflections on the fast…& keep these beauty-filled photos coming!

  4. Elizabeth said, on March 5, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    In this post I love the sweet, simple focus of the morning photos and the more expansive focus of the evening photos with city and sky. It suggests that the day has been a journey!

  5. Afshin said, on March 6, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Great blog! Happy fasting


Leave a Reply

