nineteen days

day four

Posted in day four, the fast - 2008 by amysahba on March 6, 2008

“Create in me a pure heart, O my God, and renew a tranquil conscience within me, O my Hope! Through the spirit of power confirm Thou me in Thy Cause, O my Best-Beloved, and by the light of Thy glory reveal unto me Thy path, O Thou the Goal of my desire! Through the power of Thy transcendent might lift me up unto the heaven of Thy holiness, O Source of my being, and by the breezes of Thine eternity gladden me, O Thou Who art my God! Let Thine everlasting melodies breathe tranquillity on me, O my Companion, and let the riches of Thine ancient countenance deliver me from all except Thee, O my Master, and let the tidings of the revelation of Thine incorruptible Essence bring me joy, O Thou Who art the most manifest of the manifest and the most hidden of the hidden!”

Bahá’u’lláh

amy: luke has a version of the above prayer set to music, and i’ve been humming it to myself all day. it’s so beautiful and i wish i could share it with you, but i cannot find it online. you can hear some of his work here. on another note, the focus of both my pictures today is on the left side of the screen. i wonder why that is.

leila: this fasting experience is being suspiciously physically easy. i’m wondering, What’s The Catch? and Maybe I’ll Eventually Stop Eating Altogether And Live On Air? but then i remember ginger beer. and mangoes.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Natascha said, on March 6, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Amy, I had heard about Luke before but never actually listen to his music. I like it.
    Leila, I am the same sometimes. I think to myself, yeah I can do this all the time and then I remember the good food that is out there!

    Ladies, your blog is soooooooooo cool. First thing in the morning, after eating and praying (of course): read your blog! Love. N.

  2. Rebekah said, on March 6, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    I am really enjoying your daily scriptures and the beautiful photos! This passage today is especially inspiring!

  3. Jeff said, on March 6, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Wow. your picture of the tea with the leaves in it makes me want to trade my three shots of stove-top half-caf espresso for some loose-leaf jasmine tomorrow morning. well, not that much… maybe I’ll make both.

    I have a disorganized collection of a hundred or so Baha’i prayers and quotes to music that does NOT include the prayer you’ve quoted above. Any insight into Luke Slotts recordings? His website says that by late 2006 he expected to have two cds out. I can’t find either for sale.

    Yours,

    Jeff

  4. Elizabeth said, on March 6, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Now I have Luke’s recording in my head as well. Not a bad thing at all. That looks like some delicious fast-breaking dinner Leila.

  5. barmak said, on March 6, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    i’m finding the fast physically easier by quantum degrees, too. i feel like, HA! now i’m being challenged to go farther, spiritually, to reeeeeallllly fast spiritually….

  6. amysahba said, on March 6, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Natasha – we are so glad you like the site and visiting has become a regular daily activity! and we love that you are playing along too!!!
    Rebekah – thanks for stopping by! I love that prayer too!
    Jeff – Tea is good! But coffee is better – I am just trying to pace myself during the Fast. I emailed Luke to ask him about where his CDs can be purchased, i will update once i hear from him!
    Elizabeht – isn’t it great??
    barmak – thanks for visiting and happy fasting!

  7. Amy said, on March 6, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Beautiful words, beautiful photographs. Thank you, I needed to take a deep breath.

  8. capello said, on March 6, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    i’m trying to find my balance (hell, i’ve been trying to find it for years) of being productive, being centered, being artistic, being a good mother. i love this time you two are taking to do this, it’s really lovely.

  9. Rach said, on March 7, 2008 at 12:43 am

    Leila and Amy,

    I wanted to come out of lurkdom for a moment to tell you both how much I am enjoying your blog. I feel such a sense of serenity and meditation looking at your photos. Your words are lovely as well.

    Thank you. :o)

  10. amysahba said, on March 7, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Amy – glad you enjoyed the visit!
    capello – it’s a never ending struggle, no?
    Rach – thanks for de-lurking. we are happy to hear from you.

  11. Jeff said, on March 10, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Amy,

    Thanks! I also got an email back from Luke who is in Ireland right now and offered to mail me at least the one CD with 3 Baha’i songs on it from there.

    Jeff

  12. Jim said, on March 6, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Just what I needed today. Thank you ladies! Sweeeeeet!


Leave a Reply

