nineteen days

day five

Posted in day five, the fast - 2008 by leila on March 7, 2008

… I beseech Thee by Thy Name through which Thou hast revealed Thy Self, in the glory of Thy most excellent titles, unto all created things, in this Revelation whereby Thou hast, through Thy most resplendent Name, manifested Thy beauty, to give me to drink of the wine of Thy mercy and of the pure beverage of Thy favour, which have streamed forth from the right hand of Thy will, that I may so fix my gaze upon Thee and be so detached from all else but Thee, that the world and all that hath been created therein may appear before me as a fleeting day which Thou hast not deigned to create.

Bahá’u’lláh


amy: the bed lures my back to its warm comfort in the morning after breakfast and prayers. the house is so peaceful it is nearly impossible to resist. This evening we had dinner with friends. as I took out my camera to capture my dusk, three of them pointed at me and said “it’s for your fasting blog!”. I couldn’t help but smile.

leila: my mum bought some amazing fruit the other day—sunset mangoes, ruby grapes, sweet nectarines, juicy peaches, and fresh figs that look as though they’ve been dipped in chocolate. i’m never entirely pleased with the photographed results, because the light at dawn and dusk is always so indirect here. the quirkiness of my morning routine occurred to me for the first time today: cold water to face, light jersey, slippers, spectacles … and walk downstairs dangling a big honking SLR with telephoto lens from my neck.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. michelle said, on March 7, 2008 at 3:21 am

    i can’t even begin to unravel the chain of internet events that lead me to this blog…….. but anyway thank you very much. it’s beautiful. and, funny, i’ve been ending my days by looking at it before i go to sleep. and remembering the photo and quote when i wake to eat here in wisconsin.

    happy Fasting,
    michelle p.

  2. Manijeh said, on March 7, 2008 at 5:20 am

    loving the entries and all your pictures.

  3. Alison said, on March 7, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    The “not eating” bit has been surprisingly easy for me also. In compensation, I’ve been faced with no water at home since Sunday – also the first day of the Fast – and 6 reports to write in 4 weeks. Ouch…I think I’d rather be hungry 😉

    Leila, the figs look spectacular!

    Congratulations again on the website, your photos, entries, quotes and initiative.

    love from humid luanda

  4. Elizabeth said, on March 7, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Those figs and salad are looking awfully tasty right now… Lovely photos ladies.

  5. Sarah said, on March 7, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    What beautiful figs. Our fig tree has many tiny unripe ones, but usually something eats them just as they become ripe.

    When I woke up this morning I felt like I wanted to stay snuggled up in bed, too. Somehow I feel peaceful and awake, now.

    Thank you for this post.

  6. leila said, on March 7, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    michelle: amy and i loves the internets like that. we’re glad you found us! and how touching to remember the quote and the photos—i wish i could memorize that quickly.

    manijeh: thank you and thank you and thank you. thank you for your encouragement. i’m also keeping up with your photos on flickr!

    alison: ouch is right. but thanks for reminding me to draw up my semester planner with an outline of deadlines! thank you for your kind words. i also tried to read your “humid” like it was the persian name “hamid”, but maybe that’s what happens when one lowercases all in the time in one’s own writing. congratulations on living in angola! wow!

    elizabeth: don’t they look utterly dewy-fresh? and thanks!

    sarah: my parents have the same problem with their magnolia tree—the possums eat the buds. i would share mine with you if i could! i think the reason why i don’t go back to bed like amy is because i know I WOULD NEVER LEAVE. so i content myself with just imagining it, looking at her deliciously cosy covers.

    you’re welcome.

  7. bear said, on March 8, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    i forgot to check yesterday. my bad.
    umm. leila, you might want to look into getting a flash. check http://www.strobist.com and it will blow your socks off. flash photography can be very subtle and cool. i managed to pull off a wedding gig without the flash being too “obvious” and cold just by following a few of the tips from the aforementioned website. oO! the figs do look good…yum. also, you might want to play around with the ISO/exposure/aperture/ev-values to get a more satisfactory result, however, by the look of the images you’ve posted, it doesn’t look like much more is needed. also, since the images you post are small, shooting at a high ISO doesn’t matter. and i don’t know which monkey said that grainy pictures are “bad”. pff.

    meh. i am useless in the mornings. my wife is all chipper and happy and i dive straight back to bed for awhile if i can. i hope God doesn’t get upset with me. 😀

  8. leila said, on March 17, 2008 at 1:50 am

    bear: no bad, good! thx 4 caming 2dai! it’s funny that you mention investing in a flash … because i think you’re right. i’ve been considering what the next step in my equipment collecting should be. lots of people use flash to completely NATURAL effect in tons of flickr photos that i admire a lot, and i just hope it doesn’t require lots of money/training!

    thank so much for the website—i will definitely be perusing it anon.

    the figs were just as figs should be—sweet, fresh, clean, and yielding to the bite. mmmm. wish i didn’t think about that while i’m not eating.

    in terms of the ISO speed, i do play around with that, but do you notice the difference between the quality of light in amy’s pics and the light in mine? it seems like there is a huge discrepancy. hmmm … i should probably ask her to reveal her settings.

    bear, as i get older, i find that i am less and less useless in the mornings. i’m a bit slower, and way more sensitive to loud noises, but at least this is one blessing of age. your wife sounds a delight! i would LOVE to meet her one day … in finland? and GOD LOVES YOU, BEAR!

    xxoo
    leila


Leave a Reply

