nineteen days

day eight

Posted in day eight, the fast - 2008 by leila on March 10, 2008

Make me ready, in all circumstances, O my Lord, to serve Thee and to set myself towards the adored sanctuary of Thy Revelation and of Thy Beauty. If it be Thy pleasure, make me to grow as a tender herb in the meadows of Thy grace, that the gentle winds of Thy will may stir me up and bend me into conformity with Thy pleasure, in such wise that my movement and my stillness may be wholly directed by Thee.”

Bahá’u’lláh



amy: obviously my moaning did some good, as it finally stopped raining here and I managed to even stumble upon some flowers and grass (GRASS!) struggling to make an appearance through the heavy coating of dead leaves.

late this afternoon, shamim and I took a long walk in central park, waiting for the sun to set and to join friends for dinner. those are ducks, not shamim and I. just in case anyone was wondering.

leila: i have been reading “Democracy in America” by Alexis de Tocqueville. reading his glowing words about the potential of the american system, it is hard to restrain one’s own enthusiasm: “The free institutions which the inhabitants of the United States possess, and the political rights of which they make so much use, remind every citizen, and in a thousand ways, that he lives in society … by dint of working for the good of one’s fellow citizens, the habit and the taste for serving them are at length acquired.”

again and again my thoughts turn to this backbone of social structure: service.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yas said, on March 10, 2008 at 6:08 am

    these photos made me smile this morning 🙂 all four of them. lovely.

  2. Sarah said, on March 10, 2008 at 8:13 am

    Yes, they are wonderful. And it is great to hear your insights and most of all the quotes. Thanks so much for doing this every day.

  3. Natascha said, on March 10, 2008 at 8:27 am

    Amy, I am glad you reminded us that those ducks were ducks and not you and Shamim.
    Leila, is this your bed? it looks comfy!

  4. linda said, on March 10, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    GRASS!!!! and then you went to central park. Oh how I wish I were there with you! All my loving greetings, yours

  5. limonana said, on March 10, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Leila, I love the soft light in the light of both photos, especially the one with the bear on the bed.
    Amy, I love the way the grass green & the green of that Canadian duck’s head complement each other. Really makes you sense Spring!

  6. elisa said, on March 10, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Amy, I’d like to think of you like my “personal eye” on your city and I really, really want to have a walk with you, too.

  7. Anne said, on March 10, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    Thanks Amy and Leila for these beautiful pictures and inspirational quotes. I look forward to them every day!

  8. leila said, on March 17, 2008 at 1:44 am

    yas: we’re so glad we could bring a smile to your face. thank you.

    sarah: we LOVE doing this every day. thank you so much for coming to visit and share your loving words of encouragement every day!

    natascha: i was also confused for a moment. or thirty. then i read amy’s comment. PHEW. and it is not my bed, it’s my sister’s. it is SO comfy. the evening sun coming in through the north-facing window made it the perfect bed to lounge on!

    linda: you’re not the only one who wishes they were there with her! although you have more right to feel that way than me, i have NEVER been to new york! no central park in my entire life!

    limonana: i was a bit sceptical about the “soft light” as you so gently describe it … i was worried that it was a bit “blah”. but seeing it in this combination, with others’ feedback, i am glad that i chose these two! also, i LOVE that consonance with the green in amy’s photos, too.

    elisa: DON’T WE ALL. maybe she could make some moola on the side with private guided walks through new york, always stopping for photos.

    anne: thank you so much for these enthusiastic words! we look forward to taking them and seeing each others’ every day, too!


Leave a Reply

