nineteen days

day twelve

Posted in day twelve, the fast - 2008 by leila on March 14, 2008

Man is distinguished above the animals through his reason. The perceptions of man are of two kinds: tangible, or sensible, and reasonable, whereas the animal perceptions are limited to the senses, the tangible only. The tangible perceptions may be likened to this candle, the reasonable perceptions to the light. Calculations of mathematical problems and determining the spherical form of the earth are through the reasonable perceptions. The center of gravity is a hypothesis of reason. Reason itself is not tangible, perceptible to the senses. Reason is an intellectual verity or reality. All qualities are ideal realities, not tangible realities. For instance, we say this man is a scholarly man. Knowledge is an ideal attainment not perceptible to the senses. When you see this scholarly man, your eye does not see his knowledge, your ear cannot hear his science, nor can you sense it by taste. It is not a tangible verity. Science itself is an ideal verity. It is evident, therefore, that the perceptions of man are twofold: the reasonable and the tangible, or sensible.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

amy: more breathtaking sunlight this morning, as seen fromthe break room at the office, looking out over Central Park . the photo doesn’t do it justice. I find myself missing my family terribly during these special days. I think of my parents waking up at home, my sisters, one in India and one in Boston , with their families, and my brother, in London . and my grandmother, still waking up at dawn, even if she is no longer required to fast. We are all so far, and I really can’t figure out why we decide to live so far away from each other.

leila: today i am fasting from my own words.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Elizabeth said, on March 14, 2008 at 3:43 am

    Is it already day 12? I love the colors of your morning photos!

  2. yas said, on March 14, 2008 at 5:43 am

    beautiful.

  3. Sarah said, on March 14, 2008 at 6:35 am

    Aw.

  4. linda said, on March 14, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Amy jun, star of my heart! WE miss all of you too but are ever so grateful for the knowledge that you are all ‘out in the field’, ever in service to His Cause. What greater joy is there than this? love, Mommy PS: Summer is so close and after 15 days together I am sure you will be delighted to be back ‘alone’ in NYC!!! Wonderful pictures and choice of Writings as always. Special love to lovely leila who has also entered my day – every day – my heart and thoughts! Thank you!

  5. Amy said, on March 14, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    The morning pictures are stunning. Amy, I love you…and I hear you about the distance from family…

  6. shirin sahba said, on March 15, 2008 at 1:27 am

    i ADORE the greenery, lovely shots…

  7. ja said, on March 15, 2008 at 2:30 am

    my amy, my love. If I were to do the same 19 days exercise, MY morning shots would be of my monster kids catapulting themselves onto my sacred bed, with guitars, legos and books in hand…not as serene and contemplative…i am glad some of you are enjoying dawn! i love you!

  8. leila said, on March 17, 2008 at 1:22 am

    elizabeth: sometimes i feel “Is it already day _____?” and sometimes i feel “Is it only day _____?”

    yas: thank you!

    sarah: i imagine your response was to amy’s being far from her family, because i don’t see anything cute about our photos! isn’t it interesting that while the Fast is a time of personal reflection and rejuvenation, we seem to yearn for communal bonds of sharing and togetherness as well?

    linda: thank you for your special love and thoughts! amy and her family have also entered into my heart during this fast!

    amy: thank you for your kind words.

    shirin: thanks, dear!

    ja: maybe you should “play along” so that we can see some of that hectic joyfulness!


Leave a Reply

