nineteen days

day nine

Posted in the fast - 2009 by amysahba on March 10, 2009

“He saith: “And there shall appear upon the tablet of thine heart a writing of the subtle mysteries of ‘Fear God and God will give you knowledge’; and the bird of thy soul shall recall the holy sanctuaries of preexistence and soar on the wings of longing in the heaven of ‘walk the beaten paths of thy Lord’, and gather the fruits of communion in the gardens of ‘Then feed on every kind of fruit.’ By My life, O friend, wert thou to taste of these fruits, from the green garden of these blossoms which grow in the lands of knowledge, beside the orient lights of the Essence in the mirrors of names and attributes — yearning would seize the reins of patience and reserve from out thy hand, and make thy soul to shake with the flashing light, and draw thee from the earthly homeland to the first, heavenly abode in the Center of Realities, and lift thee to a plane wherein thou wouldst soar in the air even as thou walkest upon the earth, and move over the water as thou runnest on the land. Wherefore, may it rejoice Me, and thee, and whosoever mounteth into the heaven of knowledge, and whose heart is refreshed by this, that the wind of certitude hath blown over the garden of his being, from the Sheba of the All-Merciful. Peace be upon him who followeth the Right Path!”

Bahá’u’lláh


day nine - dawnloveday nine: dawn day nine - duskdusk 03.10.2009day nine: dusk

amy: at a gathering with friends we considered the implications of living in the moment, of enjoy where you are, what you are doing. i worry about waking up one day and realizing that i didn’t fully live the days i was given, didn’t appreciate them because i was always concerned about what was next. i figure if i manage to find a way to let each day sink in, i will wake up that one morning with a heart at peace and fewer wrinkles.

alison: detachment seems to be the theme of this year’s fast for me.  Fasting is an opportunity to come closer to and commune with God, relinquishing all things of the world.  i recently moved, and for the first few days in my new home, i had no energy or water.  i’ve been through this before, but for some reason, it was exponentially more trying this time.  i have reluctantly come to realize that renouncing the things of the world may also include water and energy!  this morning, however, i finally awoke feeling at peace, as though the storm had subsided and all was calm and quiet again.  shortly after sunrise the energy went out again, but this time i was serene and knew that everything would be okay.

leila: on another Baha’i mother’s blog, i read how she relates having children to spiritual fasting, by saying that the existence of little ones in one’s life mean that one has to fast from one’s own desires. new mama that i am, i draw strength from this idea as i struggle with both the little- and big-picture elements of my life. and it has given me a focus, a purpose, for the countless sleepless hours that i expend on persuading a frantic little irrational exhausted person that she can, by all means, fall asleep: i am fasting from my own desires.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Monette said, on March 11, 2009 at 7:44 am

    Dear All,
    Thank you so very much for these beautiful and inspiring selections of quotes and pictures. Your comments and reflections are giving me also food for thought each day as I get early to work and spend a couple of minutes looking at your entry for the day. The living in the moment concept struck home with me as well, as life around us wants us to keep moving and not pause to reflect (not unlike being a tourist on a Manhattan sidewalk). It seems like it takes a spiritual kind of discipline to be in the moment and enjoy what is around us and experience how it connects us to others and touches our core.

  2. nemoDreamer said, on March 11, 2009 at 9:54 am

    we’re praying for you, alison!

  3. Sara said, on March 11, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Leila, it’s funny that what you mention, how having children often means that one has to fast from one’s own desires, was exactly my thought today! I am a mother of two and today was my first day of fasting in three years. I stopped breastfeeding yesterday as I am leaving on pilgrimage without my children in a couple of days. Today’s fast was astonishingly easy, despite the fact of being at home, surrounded by food and having to prepare meals for two kids. I put it down to exactly that, that having kids puts your life on a shelf, sometimes you can get to it, but most of the time you just lead your children’s life – which is fine and great and a wonderful thing, but it does involve a great deal of detachment. Also I notice that ever since my first son was born, I barely take the time to eat during the day – which probably also helped with the fasting 🙂

  4. Nima Sanai said, on March 11, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Amy: it tooks me hours to understand your dusk pic!!! ehehe! I though it was a necklace!! Then when I ate something I realized it is a reflex from a glass… Anyway I dont care what is it! I love it…. At the end, I’m gonna tell u my fav one! Kisses..

  5. Sarah said, on March 11, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    Beautiful.

  6. lara said, on March 12, 2009 at 6:45 am

    I love the combination of sacred writings, personal comments and images. And I love the collaborative aspect of this project. Inspiring to imagine the future of our culture of arts!!
    Thank you from Japan!

  7. Rebekah said, on March 12, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Amy, I loved your words about finding a heart at peace…it’s something I think we all strive for.

  8. leili said, on March 16, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Alison! as usual I love all your photos. Amy’s sky looks like a bit of yours.

    Leila, I love your reflection about motherhood as spiritual Fasting. What you are doing – with all its ups and downs – is so very very important and difficult.


Leave a Reply

