nineteen days

day one

Posted in 2010, day one, the fast - 2010 by leila on March 2, 2010

“Cause me to taste, O my Lord, the divine sweetness of Thy remembrance and praise.”

Bahá’u’lláh

Assist them, O my God, to render Thee victorious and to exalt Thy Word. Suffer them, then, to become as hands of Thy Cause amongst Thy servants, and make them to be revealers of Thy religion and Thy signs amongst mankind, in such wise that the whole world may be filled with Thy remembrance and praise and with Thy proofs and evidences.

Bahá’u’lláh

leili (haifa, israel) left: It is day one and I already feel like I am floating. I am so blessed to be able to fast next to the holiest spots on earth. It is like being surrounded by spirit made matter… Today I have been thinking a lot about sacrifice and detachment, their meaning and their significance, and I hope that one day I can find a way to master them. For now, the fast provides me with a real example of what the power of faith can do: to have an entire community find joy through a little pain.

shahriar (quito, ecuador) right: Today and every day during this special time I pray for my fast to be accepted.

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. amysahba said, on March 2, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    these images are truly breathless. i love the dark moodiness of the roses, the way the two skies compliment each other, the simplicity of the colonnade… there is so much joy in these days and these images… thank you.

  2. leila said, on March 2, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Shahriar’s is like a valentine’s to the Fast, and Leili’s evokes the otherworldly peacefulness, softness, of the fragrance of the Holy Land. Love this so much.

  3. samimi-extremie said, on March 2, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    hahaha! leila is so right! shahriar’s is super awesomely valentines like. i LOVE it.
    leili’s brings me right back to the Holy Land.

    thank you both!

  4. Elizabeth said, on March 3, 2010 at 12:23 am

    I love the muted colors of Leili’s morning and Shahriar’s evening. And I have to laugh at Leila’s spot-on description of the right-hand photos as a valentine to the Fast. Lovely.

  5. Omid said, on March 3, 2010 at 12:29 am

    Finding joy through a little pain…what a beautiful way to frame what we’re doing. Both sets of photos evoke a sense of stillness and calm, which to me are two of the characteristics of the fast. The abstract quality of the “valentine” shot really pulls me in. Very excited to see the quotes, photos and posts over the next 18 days.

  6. L. said, on March 3, 2010 at 12:45 am

    Amazing photos! Love them!

  7. Fari said, on March 3, 2010 at 1:44 am

    So beautiful. Thank you.

  8. Del said, on March 3, 2010 at 3:32 am

    I love the softness of all these pictures. It makes me think of the moment right after one has eaten in the morning, has said some prayers and there is this softness in the air…. everything is quiet, every feeling you have is enhanced and one can’t help but thank God for everything… once more.

    ps. Leili and Shahriar’s comments are as wonderful as their pictures are 🙂

  9. TB said, on March 3, 2010 at 6:45 am

    My schedule doesn’t allow much time to attend feast or to break fast with other Baha’is, but this blog has provided an unexpected sense of connectedness as I fast each year. Thank you!

  10. Charles G. Parker 3rd said, on March 3, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Fasting is not same to me, Read it states in Mathew of Fasting, Not to show faith as old, is good if you believe it is. I don’t for I not need it. Fasting in mathew, states washing thy face and Head is Fasting, thus Fasting is this to man, it is same to world and life of world. Fasting is Caring for man the face, and World as the head. God has blessed your religion. It will be Know as Christianity as all religions are. One differance, thus new religions are more acurate. One’s of onld belief are last and your’s is FIRST. Not allowing customs of man, ruin your heart. With pride! Believing they are better. When God’s laws change it doesn’t acknowledge thie belief, for God all are his. All man believes in God. Most Churches of today is only for themselves to feel better, loosing all meaning of God’s books. I only read half of three books in King James. Gave me belief of your religion, thus also mine. Not as part of Church, as part of God. Amen, My thoughs not to impose, mearly thought or seed, same. Both are your choice. Thus not wrong. Not to impose judgments of man. I can impose as I wish. I have more right than all man on this earth. I am his son, not as believer, I AM.

  11. tamila said, on March 3, 2010 at 11:54 am

    This is such a beautiful beginning of the Fast and the launch of this year’s sequence, thank you Leili and Shahriar!
    Soo exited to see more!!!!

  12. kadria said, on March 3, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    beautiful photos and comments – thanks to leili and shahriar for starting the project off so beautifully! looking forward to each and every day of this year’s nineteen days.

  13. barmak said, on March 3, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    Del! You said it!!!!

  14. yas said, on March 3, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    so beautiful. thank you both.

  15. Leili said, on March 3, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Leili E., you have captured something of the essence of that place with your two images. Shahr, your images – and especially the serendipitous heart – are so emotive. Both of your reflections went straight to me. Thanks.

  16. Scott said, on March 3, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Having recently returned from our first pilgrimage, I am moved by the picture of the collonade of the House in a way that is hard to describe. The deep, deep redness of the roses also speaks. Thank you both for your offerings.

  17. Ellen said, on March 3, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    This is such a wonderful project — thank you! I’m not a professional photographer but your site inspired me to take photos of each day of the Fast this year. I’m really enjoying the process… (“Every hour of these days is endowed with a special potency…”)

  18. Sarah said, on March 5, 2010 at 12:37 am

    Spirit made matter, so true, so exactly true. So wonderful to see dearly loved Writings here and to see peaceful and striking photos that you have so carefully taken. Thank you.

  19. negeen said, on March 7, 2010 at 12:41 am

    cool serenity and fervent love.
    two distinct states we aspire to reach during these nineteen days.


Leave a Reply

