nineteen days

day five

Posted in the fast - 2010 by leila on March 7, 2010

“Soon will our handful of days, our vanishing life, be gone, and we shall pass, empty-handed, into the hollow that is dug for those who speak no more; wherefore must we bind our hearts to the manifest Beauty, and cling to the lifeline that faileth never. We must gird ourselves for service, kindle love’s flame, and burn away in its heat.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

“O My servants! Be as resigned and submissive as the earth, that from the soil of your being there may blossom the fragrant, the holy and multicolored hyacinths of My knowledge.”

Bahá’u’lláh

elizabeth (brooklyn, u.s.a) left: The Fast is a time of renewal and transition, a time to meditate and attempt to understand the twists and turns of the path that is my spiritual journey.  This year one line from a prayer has been running constantly through my head: “O God, my God!  Look not upon my hopes and my doings, nay rather look upon Thy will that hath encompassed the heavens and the earth.”  I say it to myself and wonder what is in store for me in the next year.

ryan (vancouver, canada) right: As hard as I try, I never seem prepared for the fast when it arrives. I spend the first few days struggling to rouse myself in the mornings and drifting into heavy naps in the afternoons, never taking the moments to reflect that I so cherish and desire during these days. It’s only during the last moments of fading sun, when food as again at hand that I seem to pause and remember how much I love this time of year.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sarah said, on March 7, 2010 at 1:50 am

    Holy cow, those are great quotes!

    The photographs are mesmerizing. When I look at them along with the Writings, I feel as though a seed is bursting open in the physical and spiritual worlds. Thank you. This is beautiful.

  2. samimi-extremie said, on March 7, 2010 at 3:15 am

    i have to agree with sarah. AMAZING quotes, the first i had never read/heard before!! thank you! elizabeth your photos are amazing! ryan: your photos are just all right. i have yet to be “wowed” by your eye, though i must say you are improving…it must be those advanced community college photography 101 classes …..PSSSYYYCCCHHHHHH!!!!!

    no for real though, amazing post, super feed for my soul.
    love you both.
    xxx.

  3. shirin s. said, on March 7, 2010 at 3:20 am

    Amazing set! & amazing quotes! The seascapes make me feel like I’m breathing fresh air, & the blossoms make me optimistic :o) The rainbow colour one in motion reminds me of a whirling dervish, so lovely.

  4. yas said, on March 7, 2010 at 5:56 am

    stunning. i love the soft pink light and the quiet stillness of elizabeth’s dawn and ry’s dusk. beautiful.

  5. Leili said, on March 7, 2010 at 10:53 am

    Very beautiful quotation choices, you two. I always think of the song “Service” by David Hunt when I read the first one.

    Elizabeth, you are doing something very interesting with the light in your dawn image. The light is coming from the front left of the image, but the sun is also clearly lighting up some hidden buildings behind the moorings, which makes a second, oppositional light source come from the back. Very nice and gold-y. Also I love the painterly dusk image.

    Ry, your dawn is deliciously mysterious and abstract, and, as Shirin said, full of promise.

  6. tamila said, on March 7, 2010 at 11:21 am

    I love everything about today’s post! The photos, the quotes and the thoughts shared are delicious!! Thanks guys!

  7. anotherworldcitizen said, on March 7, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    I adore each quote and photograph, and have a question. Where was the photo of the bench taken? I would like to go there. It looks meditative and beautiful. I love how these photographs capture the beauty of God’s creation and remind me to appreciate all God’s gifts.

  8. Sjona said, on March 7, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    I like to contrast between the warm colors on one side and the cold colors on the other…

  9. Del said, on March 8, 2010 at 3:23 am

    The quotes are so inspiring!! And each photograph makes me want to go outside, feel the breeze, sing a prayer and thank God for so much beauty. Thank you Elizabeth and Ryan!


Leave a Reply

