nineteen days

day seven

Posted in the fast - 2010 by leila on March 8, 2010

“Love setteth a world aflame at every turn, and he wasteth every land where he carrieth his banner. Being hath no existence in his kingdom; the wise wield no command within his realm. The leviathan of love swalloweth the master of reason and destroyeth the lord of knowledge. He drinketh the seven seas, but his heart’s thirst is still unquenched, and he saith, ‘Is there yet any more?’ … ”

Bahá’u’lláh

“Say, by reason of your remembering Him Whom God shall make manifest and by extolling His name, God will cause your hearts to be dilated with joy, and do ye not wish your hearts to be in such a blissful state?”

the Báb

kat (auckland, new zealand) left: Like many of you (I assume), I also struggle to get out of bed in the morning. And like all of you, I wait for the sun to set, patiently and painfully, so that I may satisfy my thirst and feed my hunger. When I am reminded through prayer and meditation that these outward acts are a symbol of our LOVE for God, I am spellbound. I truly wish (and pray!) that as these special days roll by, my love for His Beauty and my desire to know Him and to worship Him is increased.

sholeh (chicago, u.s.a.) right:  My home is silent in the morning, mysterious and murky, and as I warm up food, the sun slowly peeks up over the trees.  In the evening the golden light is shining onto dark wood floors, the shadows rise up and surround me as I break my fast.  The evergreens at the Bahá’í House of Worship are starting to bud with pine cones, which makes me hopeful for spring.  The gelato at my local coffee house looked amazing, and my mouth started watering as I explained the project to the barista, who told me to come behind the counter to take photos.

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. leila said, on March 8, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    Both the quotations end in questions! How mysterious!

  2. amysahba said, on March 8, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    i love both these quotes… so much.
    kat – that dawn images is quintessential ‘Fast’. waking up, it’s still dark… sleepy… and then that sunset, glorious.
    sholeh – i really want an ice-cream now. really bad too.

  3. Sarah said, on March 8, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    I am absolutely entranced. Beginning with the quotes, ending with the person facing the sunset and the elusive and mountainous gelato, I am both in a blissful state and asking for more. . .

  4. samimi-extremie said, on March 8, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    amazing, ladies.

    kat: you have been able to capture to me, what is the essence of the Fast- in the morning dark and tired and at sunset awake and observant to the world around us.

    sholeh: your gelato makes my mouth water. and i just broke my Fast! 🙂 you are truly blessed to be so close to the House of Worship.

  5. elliott said, on March 8, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    I find that the themes of the quotations, photos and reflections compliment each other so well.
    Kat’s excellent reflection on Fasting for the sake of love, together with what I interpret to be a beautifully orchestrated “I will be a happy and joyful being” theme by Sholeh – really lends to an uplifted spirit. (but this does not surprise me, coming from these two). Kat’s illustration of what it is to get up before sunrise and Sholeh’s of the gelato that is now truly appreciated at the end of the day just gladdens the soul.

  6. Sholeh said, on March 8, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    I now ruefully notice that those who are looking at this while they are fasting will probably be tortured at the sight of the gelato! I apologize!

    And thank you, everyone! I had so much fun doing this, I wish I could do it every day.

  7. yas said, on March 9, 2010 at 1:50 am

    food for the soul and a feast for the eyes! i specially love both of your reflections…thank you both. kat, i love the details in your dawn. so quiet and intimate. sholeh, the gelato is just delicious! i want some too – and i just had breakfast!

  8. golriz said, on March 9, 2010 at 3:00 am

    i love crumpled bed sheets. actually, nothing much beats a cozy bed. which is why the first thing i do in hotel rooms is mess up the bed. starting with pitching the ‘decorative’ pillows across the room.
    oops. i’m realizing i sound like a menace.

    beautiful shots kat & sholeh!

    xx

  9. kat said, on March 9, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    this project rocks my world. the images coupled with spiritual words and insight bestows peacefulness and joy. beyond this, i also feel a great sense of unity with all you dear ones who are Fasting around the world. ah, so beautiful!

    also, thank you all for your comments. it’s truly humbling for me to receive kind encouragement from photographers and individuals i really admire. although i have yet to meet all of you in person, i feel connected to you.

    xx

  10. Marijn said, on March 9, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Really had a good laugh at the original Italian ice cream – I’ll take one after the fast in a nice restaurant where I was so kindly welcome to have a business meeting without ordering anything. In a DUTCH restaurant, mind you! Thanx for this lovely initiative!

  11. kat said, on March 9, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    golriz – i forgot to say that your comment cracked me up. i had this crazy mental image of you unleashing havoc in hotel rooms, which is so not the mood i was going for with that photo! you’re gold. 🙂

  12. Elizabeth said, on March 10, 2010 at 12:02 am

    Kat’s morning photo captures the Fast so well. And oh my goodness, that gelato…you’re killing me Sholeh.

  13. Razi said, on March 11, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Kat, I love your photos!
    amazing sentiment so emotional and
    beautiful.
    thanks.

  14. elly said, on March 14, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    i love the visual connection between sholeh’s pictures—the pink is so gentle and so riveting.


Leave a Reply

