nineteen days

day fourteen

Posted in the fast - 2010 by leila on March 15, 2010

“O ye beloved of God! When the winds blow severely, rains fall fiercely, the lightning flashes, the thunder roars, the bolt descends and storms of trial become severe, grieve not; for after this storm, verily, the divine spring will arrive, the hills and fields will become verdant, the expanses of grain will joyfully wave, the earth will become covered with blossoms, the trees will be clothed with green garments and adorned with blossoms and fruits. Thus blessings become manifest in all countries. These favors are results of those storms and hurricanes.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

layli (rapid city, u.s.a.) left: As this year comes to a close, I find myself eager to shed some old habits and mentalities that haven’t proven beneficial to me and start fresh! Thankfully, for the Fast, I am able to more keenly identify what assists me in my spiritual development & nurtures my relationship with Bahá’u’lláh. During this time, I have been deliberately making efforts to focus on those things that bring me joy & bliss : I think of my dear family & husband, which I am so blessed to have, and the relationships in my life that nurture and feed my soul—all of these gifts are God-given & blessed! It is only appropriate then, that my best friend/dear brother and I are contributing to “nineteen days” together today.

The quote above is one that was typed up on a little piece of paper that I had printed out for a study group Na’im and I used to have in college. He then put it in his prayer book for 4 years, then sent it to me in the mail, suggesting I now put it in my prayer book. every time I read this quote, I am uplifted and reminded of the significance of trusting in the Mercy of God by staying positive & hopeful.

na’im (beijing, china) right: My year is a spindle of yarn. From Naw-Ruz onwards, the spindle unravels with increasing speed, snagging on this and extending to there. From the first moment of the Fast, each length of the yarn is sought out, hopefully examined, and with God’s blessing brought back to the center. For me there is no feeling of balance or calm like the one that accompanies these days. There is no joy like laboring on a Path of exertion and search surrounded by the fellowship and love of family and friends.

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. amysahba said, on March 15, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    LOVE that you guys did this day together. Utterly spectacular.

  2. samimi-extremie said, on March 15, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    thanks, amyjoon! i especially love how our dusks match – the balloons with the crates- they’re even the same colors! so fun!

  3. Alison said, on March 16, 2010 at 12:01 am

    I am in love with this set. So, so awesome! And the choice of quote and reflections – very touching.

  4. golriz said, on March 16, 2010 at 12:44 am

    i love the quote you picked & the shots are exquisite. i feel like the bike guy is heading over to hang out with baktash & his balloons in a field. love it 🙂

  5. Sjona said, on March 16, 2010 at 1:23 am

    it almost looks like the same person took these photos!!
    I ❤ how the two dawn photos go together….

  6. yas said, on March 16, 2010 at 1:35 am

    layli and na’im, this is stunning!! so joyful. i love this set!

  7. sara said, on March 16, 2010 at 4:00 am

    The guy with the boxes looks like he cycled right out of one of Shirin’s paintings!!!!

  8. shirin s. said, on March 16, 2010 at 5:28 am

    love you two!! you are so imaginative, creative, & just plain wonderful. what a blessing to be related to such talent!!

  9. Farida said, on March 16, 2010 at 5:39 am

    This quote hit the heart it’s so poetical and full of imagery!!!
    The photos are priceless!!! those balloons and the great colours bring a sensation of the coming of spring…
    love love love it!!!

    thank you guys for inspiring us each day!!!

  10. Sarah said, on March 16, 2010 at 6:18 am

    Definitely a resemblance in these photos-gorgeous and original.

    Thanks, also, for the quote. Perfect.

  11. sautra said, on March 16, 2010 at 9:06 am

    I think my soul really need that quote right now. Thanks a bunch.

  12. Bobby Aazami said, on March 16, 2010 at 10:26 am

    Layli joon, both your photos are beautiful for a number of reasons. I love the mood and the desolate feeling captured at Dawn and contrasted by the opposite emotion through your choice of colors and the expression of your stunningly ridiculously gorgeous model at Dusk! Kudos, Samimi!

    Na’im, now I know why I held your hand walking down the isle during the ceremony at my brother’s wedding. You are the best kept secret in China. You and the talented Shirin have confirmed through your photography, that daylight in China is indeed, blue.

    Great work. Very complimentary to one another. Some of my favorite sets.

  13. kat said, on March 16, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    i love this set! so much colour and creativity. layli – i’m a fan. you manage to have a ‘samimi-extremie’ way of doing absolutely everything.

    thanks, guys. this was really awesome!

  14. samimi-extremie said, on March 16, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    i am so touched and thrilled that you guys love the set so much!! thank YOU! @ golriz: your comment made me laugh re. the biker coming to kick it with the baxter.

    thank you so much everyone, i am so happy that the photos bring you all so much joyyyy!!

    big hugs.
    Allah’u’Abha!!

  15. Omid said, on March 17, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    lovely. lovely. lovely. i was truly delighted by these photos.

    i’m a big fan of both dawn photos. layli’s looks like it was taken with a pinhole camera giving it an ethereal feeling and na’im’s seems to capture the way the world appears to sleepy, dream filled eyes at dawn.

    layli, amen to your reflection…so important to remind ourselves how those relationships and fountains of love are indeed God-given gifts.

  16. Leili said, on March 19, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    I know the others have said it, but I have to echo that the connections between these two gives me the shivers. You are, after all, like twins, so I am not surprised, but still – it is pretty incredible. And so beautiful to my eye. The soft, monochromatic dawns – strange as one is totally rural and one totally urban; the left-facing men, one I know, the other I don’t, with primary color adornment – I just love it, and love that it represents the connection that you two have, too, fasting on opposite sides of the globe.

  17. r. said, on March 23, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    A real joy to read. Thanks you guys.

    Lots.


Leave a Reply

