nineteen days

day sixteen

Posted in the fast - 2010 by leila on March 17, 2010

The more we search for ourselves, the less likely we are to find ourselves; and the more we search for God, and to serve our fellow-men, the more profoundly will we become acquainted with ourselves, and the more inwardly assured. This is one of the great spiritual laws of life.

Shoghi Effendi

“Why then are ye quenched, why silent, why leaden and dull? Ye must shine forth like the lightning, and raise up a clamouring like unto the great sea. Like a candle must ye shed your light, and even as the soft breezes of God must ye blow across the world. Even as sweet breaths from heavenly bowers, as musk-laden winds from the gardens of the Lord, must ye perfume the air for the people of knowledge, and even as the splendours shed by the true Sun, must ye illumine the hearts of humankind. For ye are the life-laden winds, ye are the jessamine-scents from the gardens of the saved. Bring then life to the dead, and awaken those who slumber. In the darkness of the world be ye radiant flames; in the sands of perdition, be ye well-springs of the water of life, be ye guidance from the Lord God. Now is the time to serve, now is the time to be on fire. Know ye the value of this chance, this favourable juncture that is limitless grace, ere it slip from your hands.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

liam (glasgow, scotland) left: There’s so much unhappiness in the world, when there doesn’t need to be, and so much suffering when there shouldn’t be. So many people are abused, and neglected, and starving, and miserable. So I’m fasting. Big deal. What can I do for them? What can you do for them?

negeen (haifa, israel) right: These days I’ve come to realize that after years of not caring to be in my own photographs, suddenly I do. The photograph itself used to be enough of a memory of being somewhere, but now as I prepare to leave a home I’ve grown to love so much, I want to be a part of the scene I shoot. Perhaps capturing myself somehow keeps me there, at least within that image.

And at times when I don’t manage to put part or all of myself in the photo, if I look really hard, I can often find myself in the faces of my loved ones.

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sholeh said, on March 17, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    Negeen: become friends with more photographers? 😉 I really love that morning shot of yours!!!

    Liam: photos of people! nice.

  2. tamila said, on March 17, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Negeen, your dawn I like! Very cute! And Liam, I love your dusk lomo like shot!

  3. jeffphotodude said, on March 17, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    Nice set and a good contrast of images. Nice!

  4. shirin s. said, on March 18, 2010 at 12:30 am

    negeen, beautiful Haifa captures, & your words remind me of that time in my life when I had to leave too, I take comfort in knowing it will always be there right where I left it! :o)
    liam, your words are so very true! I love that you both took of people sharing a laugh together!

  5. Sarah said, on March 18, 2010 at 1:55 am

    Thank you, THANK you for these quotes-I had to cheer aloud while reading them.

    And the photos-awesome, truly awesome. I love ’em.

  6. Manijeh said, on March 18, 2010 at 4:17 am

    Negs, I love that I can see your shoes in the dawn pic!
    Hopefully see you next week some time.

  7. negeen said, on March 18, 2010 at 6:18 am

    hahahaha, good advice, sholeh. 🙂
    i’ve been dabbling in portraiture a lot lately and i love how all four images have people in them one way or another. i think liam and i made a good team that way. 🙂
    thanks for the kind words everyone!

  8. montague said, on March 18, 2010 at 6:25 am

    negeen – adorable morning shot. seriously. it’s glorious!
    liam – glad to see you are enjoying some good company in those early mornings!

  9. Liam K said, on March 18, 2010 at 8:18 am

    Thanks for the kind words folks!
    Negeen, you’re pictures are really pretty, I used to live in Haifa too, so it brought back all kinds of happy memories, and the red shoes are such a nice soulful touch…and I really liked how natural and spontaneous the second one is!
    The people in my first picture are friends and family in a Baha’i book five class I’m part of, and the still from Alice In Wonderland was taken in the cinema I work in…Johnny Depp’s Mad Hatter is a kinda schizophrenic character who bases one of his personalities on a Glaswegian actor, and in that scene he’s giving a revolutionary speech, so it kinda resonated with how I was feeling when I wrote my personal reflection!

  10. leila m. said, on March 18, 2010 at 9:41 am

    the first phrase that popped into my head when I saw these images was “dorothy in wonderland”. It really resonates with me how one’s physical journey through this fantastical and sometimes crookedly-confusing oz/wonderland of a world we live in is contrasted with the clear, straight path set forth by the teachings of Baha’u’llah for our spiritual journey.

    I also love the juxtaposition of solitary figures in cool tones and loving, warm friends/ family in warm,vibrant tones. both Negeen and Liam captured the essence of fellowship brilliantly! Isn’t it wonderful to have kindred spirits to help us, encourage us, and keep us company through this maze of life?

    Thanks so much to the both of you!

  11. Lara said, on March 18, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Allah’u’Abha,Just wanted to let you know that I’ve been enjoying reading your blog, I just joined as a follower. Also just wanted to let you know that I’ve been recently starting to read the magazine called artful blogging, and just thought you might find it inspiring. I know I have,so much so that I decided to start my own blog to share my art with people. I’ve named it Lara’s Lovely Creations and the url is http://laraslovelycreations.blogspot.com/
    Hope you enjoy it.

  12. Bobby Aazami said, on March 18, 2010 at 11:59 am

    great shots guys!

    Negin, I absolutely LOVE your dawn shot. I love how monochromatic the colors are and what jumps at you is not even the sunrise, but the red shoes!

  13. Razi said, on March 18, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    I love your photos negin.
    very lovely, the shapes in both of them compliments the other.
    wonderful.
    liam, i appreciate your vision.
    nice work.

  14. Leili said, on March 19, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Negeen, that dawn – that dawn! As if the wide-angle panorama was not enough to pull on my heart strings and well up that nostalgia, the addition of the two sweet red slippers put it over the top. Thank you.

    Both of your dusks capture people moments so nicely. One dramatic, one intimate.


Leave a Reply

