nineteen days

day seventeen

Posted in the fast - 2010 by leila on March 18, 2010

“But for the tribulations that have touched Me in the path of God, life would have held no sweetness for Me, and My existence would have profiteth Me nothing.”

Bahá’u’lláh

juliet (vancouver, canada) left:   For the last five years I have been pregnant or breastfeeding and so have not fasted physically, this year included. This year I decided to fast from my own self-imposed night time depression and idleness and be creative instead. It has been truly amazing. Thank you God for this incredible fast.

philip (queens, u.s.a.) right: Not being able to fully fast for various reasons was very saddening for me: I would have liked my fast this year to be a period of reflection & gratitude for all the positive changes I’ve experienced in my life lately, but having to eat just ended up making me feel spoilt and guilty (on top of a sense of “missing out”) …  I hope to live up to the opportunities that have been given me and consciously concentrate on my spiritual growth during these last few days …

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. amysahba said, on March 18, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    dear philip and juliet, thank you. for your stunning images, for your moving words. so interesting to me that you both are not participating in the physical fast but are finding ways to make it your own in any way…

  2. Day seventeen « hoogli art said, on March 18, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    […] nineteendays.wordpress.com […]

  3. Alison Bird said, on March 19, 2010 at 2:36 am

    OH MY GOODNESS! This is one of the most beautiful sets so far. Like Amy, I was very touched by your moving words. Gorgeous!

  4. Ilona said, on March 19, 2010 at 5:39 am

    Your words make me think of the Naw Ruz prayer which reminds me that it is up to God whether our Fast is acceptable, whether we can observe it or not. Also, it is impressive how the photos are connected – dawn – down-to-earth; and dusk – soaring.

  5. Sarah said, on March 19, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Very beautiful, and very sweet.

  6. jeffphotodude said, on March 19, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Right on Juliet! Creativity rocks.

  7. samimi-extremie said, on March 19, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    wonderful set! i lovvveeee the purple/navy hues in the photos, unreal. and so beautiful!

  8. Leili said, on March 19, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    Love your reflections, in word and image.

    And Philby – I had forgotten that today was your day, but when I came to day 17, I instinctively looked at the mirror picture and thought, “I bet Philby took that”. Weird. Very distinctive aesthetic that I continue to love.

  9. kat said, on March 19, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    i’m also loving the colours in this set! beautiful. thanks, juliet and philip.

  10. nas said, on March 22, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Philip and Juliet, thank you for sharing your beautiful pictures and your insights. This was my first physical fast in four years, as I’ve been unable to fast for the last few years due to health conditions. It was truly a blessing. But I completely remember, understand, and sympthaize with the feeling of not being able to physically fast — and the challenge of spiritually fasting without the physical reminder that this is a special time. I hope this ended up being a wonderful fast for both of you.


Leave a Reply

