nineteen days

day eighteen

Posted in the fast - 2010 by amysahba on March 19, 2010

“This is the hour, O my Lord, which Thou hast caused to excel every other hour, and hast related to the choicest among Thy creatures. I beseech Thee, O my God, by Thy Self and by them, to ordain in the course of this year what shall exalt Thy loved ones. Do Thou, moreover, decree within this year what will enable the Daystar of Thy power to shine brightly above the horizon of Thy glory, and to illuminate by Thy sovereign might, the whole world.”

Bahá’u’lláh

“If it be Thy pleasure, make me to grow as a tender herb in the meadows of Thy grace, that the gentle winds of Thy will may stir me up and bend me into conformity with Thy pleasure, in such wise that my movement and my stillness may be wholly directed by Thee.”

Bahá’u’lláh

mauricio (haifa, israel) left: This past year has been full of blessings as well as tests. Having the bounty of living and serving full-time in Haifa, growing more in the Faith, losing loved ones, finding the woman I love and marring her last month. Ups and downs like these, during this time, made me reflect and turn towards God more than ever.

Throughout this Fast, I find the reflection has increased, being careful with my thoughts and actions is a work in progress and asking for forgiveness is essential. The love and gratitude to God, always humbling, especially while in the Shrine. Sharing it for the first time with my wife, extremely special and uplifting.

razi (sherman oaks, u.s.a.) right: We all want to get “high”.  Since we were little we loved being thrown high in the air, or going as high as possible on the swing.  The euphoric rush makes us feel alive, present, and joyous.  We grow up and that feeling becomes more and more difficult to achieve.  Often people turn to drugs, alcohol, or many other unhealthy addictions.  For myself I unseal the “Choice Wine”, with the fast, the writings, prayer and meditation.  I have found that that “high” is possible. This 19-day fast is one of the fruits of God’s gifts to all of us.  What an evolutionary idea, getting high on the words of God!  Being “so inebriated with the wine” of His manifold wisdom that we forsake our couches in our longing to celebrate His praise and extol His virtues. Human beings seek that sensation; here’s a way that’s not physically or psychologically damaging but rather spiritually enriching. This is why I love the fast for the intensity and power of it.  How it brings my lens into focus, and makes my heart catch on fire with God’s love.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tamila said, on March 19, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    Lovely shots, beautiful notes! Thanks for sharing!

  2. jennifer Wood said, on March 20, 2010 at 9:04 am

    This is the first year of fasting that I have felt that euphoric high of God’s words! I am so grateful. Have a mystical and magical Naw-Ruz! P.S. Pass the Prayer Book…Here…;)

    • Razi said, on March 20, 2010 at 11:02 am

      Great Jennifer! lots of blessings and spiritual highs for the year to come!

  3. Sarah said, on March 20, 2010 at 9:11 am

    Your quotes made me want to jump for joy! And your photos are so beautiful. Thank you for your excellent work.

  4. Auntieclare and Jon said, on March 20, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Razi dear …. such talent and eloquence. Your piece is beautiful!

  5. Juliet said, on March 20, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    So incredibly beautiful, thankyou.

  6. Patricia Muñoz said, on March 20, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Mauri, Beautiful pictures! And also your reflection! Thanks for the quotations….just perfect.

  7. negeen said, on March 20, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    mauricio, lovely colors and nice framing in your dawn.
    razi, love those in-between moments that are often overlooked. pairs, arms and bowls compliment each other so well.

    nice work guys!

  8. montague said, on March 20, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    razi: love your early breakfast with the kids….
    mauricio: gorgeous capture of dawn over the mountain…. and i simply adore that dusk shot!

  9. linda said, on March 22, 2010 at 6:03 am

    I so love the comments about ‘high’. This blessed Fasting season has always made me euphoric – as if I were floating above everything. So so so special, just as are all the photos which have been so graciously contributed by dear friends around the world. Thank you all!

    Loving greetings, Linda


Leave a Reply

