nineteen days

day three

Posted in the fast - 2011 by leila on March 4, 2011

“I beseech Thee, O my God, by Thy hair which moveth across Thy face, even as Thy most exalted pen moveth across the pages of Thy tablets, shedding the musk of hidden meanings over the kingdoms of Thy creation, so to raise me up to serve Thy Cause that I shall not fall back, nor be hindered by the suggestions of them who have cavilled at Thy signs and turned away from Thy face.”

Bahá’u’lláh

“O Thou Whose tests are a healing medicine to such as are nigh unto Thee, Whose sword is the ardent desire of all them that love Thee, Whose dart is the dearest wish of those hearts that yearn after Thee, Whose decree is the sole hope of them that have recognized Thy truth! I implore Thee, by Thy divine sweetness and by the splendors of the glory of Thy face, to send down upon us from Thy retreats on high that which will enable us to draw nigh unto Thee. Set, then, our feet firm, O my God, in Thy Cause, and enlighten our hearts with the effulgence of Thy knowledge, and illumine our breasts with the brightness of Thy names.”

Bahá’u’lláh

kat (london, u.k.) left: During this Fast, I am making a conscious effort not to complain and whine about something I choose to do for my Faith. Since this year’s ‘nineteen days’ project is dedicated to the Bahá’ís in Iran, I am poignantly reminded that the spirit in which we undertake the Fast should be out of love for Him and His Beauty, not out out of mere obligation. A while ago, I did a series of photographs dedicated to the Bahá’ís in Iran (they are somewhere on my flickr account). I have modelled my dawn shot from that theme and hope to be continually reminded of their sacrifices.

augusta (brooklyn, u.s.a.) right: This has been my first experience with Fasting for Naw Ruz which I first saw as a time for minimizing, for going without. I thought the lesson would be one of discovering excesses in my life. What I’ve come to realize, is that for me the Fast is a lesson in selfcare. A lesson that instead of taking too much in, I too often go without as though I don’t believe myself to be deserving of sufficient nourishment. Since Fasting I have been putting much more effort and attention into what I eat choosing healthier ingredients, arranging them in pleasing ways on my plate, and savoring each morsel to its fullest. I am sleeping a normal amount going to bed early and rising early, a luxury I have rarely allowed myself. As this fast continues it also affords me time to think things through so that I can act with intention. This morning I watched the sun rise from my fire escape in Brooklyn. At sunset I walked over the Williamsburg bridge and spent some time admiring the skyline. Both are precious spaces that provide serenity for me, places where bliss and thankfulness wash over me, if even just for the fact that I am able to witness such beauty. I am very happy to be able to share these places with you all through my pictures.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Leili said, on March 5, 2011 at 1:20 am

    Gus, I love the mood of your shots, and the way that dawn and dusk are indistinguishable – continuous – in some sense. I also really love your reflection about self-care and “nourishment” as well.

    Kat, your images are simply stunning. Thank you both.

  2. Ashley Southall said, on March 5, 2011 at 7:14 am

    Kat – love the way the first image looks like Persian Caligraphy and the second one actually is.

    Augusta – love the serentiy and golden sky of the first photo contasting with the storminess and silver of the second.

  3. Amy said, on March 5, 2011 at 7:27 am

    Gorgeous all around, but i am particularly fond of both your morning shots.
    And Gus, oh you Are making me miss new york so much! And i love your reflections on ‘acting with intention’.

  4. Anna said, on March 5, 2011 at 7:42 am

    Kat – I never knew you had such an amazing talent with a camera….those shots are gorgeous!

    Augusta – your reflections on the Fast and what it means to you are inspiring. They really struck a chord with me.

  5. Della L. Marcus said, on March 5, 2011 at 10:16 am

    Beautiful. Thank you both!

  6. shirin s. said, on March 5, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Gus! ADORE your shots, so peaceful, so lovey…your reflections on the fast are so thoughtful, makes me so happy that your fast is going well! :o)
    Kat: I love the combination of the yellow with the black & white calligraphy…

  7. kat said, on March 5, 2011 at 11:13 am

    Agusta, thank you. Your words on self-care really moved me. Beautifully written. And your dawn shot is incredible!

    • Augusta said, on March 5, 2011 at 12:20 pm

      Hi Kat – Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m glad that we have shared this day to honor the fast together through our collective creativity. I love the feeling that your photos evoke. They are gorgeously simple in pattern and content while emitting so much warmth and joy with their golden hues. They have a tranquil quality that really exemplifies the fast so well.

  8. Sofia Minson said, on March 5, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    Khat I love your photos, they’re powerful, simple and glowing. The soul in your pictures and your words about what the fast means to you, especially this year, really do fill my heart with warmth.

    It reminds me of something you and I went through a while ago to do with the fast and I now feel more understanding of the journey that you go through. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

