nineteen days

day four

Posted in the fast - 2011 by leila on March 5, 2011

“By the righteousness of God! If thou wert present before My Throne and didst hearken unto the Tongue of might and grandeur, thou wouldst sacrifice thy body, thy soul, thine entire being as a token of thy love for God, the Sovereign, the Protector, the All-Knowing, the All-Wise, and wouldst so thrill to the fascination of His Voice that every pen would be powerless to recount thy station and every eloquent speaker would be confounded in his attempt to describe it. Ponder a while concerning this Revelation and its invincible sovereignty; aid it then as it beseemeth thy Lord, the Gracious, the All-Bountiful.”

Bahá’u’lláh

“Even as the clouds let us shed down tears, and as the lightning flashes let us laugh at our coursings through east and west. By day, by night, let us think but of spreading the sweet savours of God. Let us not keep on forever with our fancies and illusions, with our analysing and interpreting and circulating of complex dubieties. Let us put aside all thoughts of self; let us close our eyes to all on earth, let us neither make known our sufferings nor complain of our wrongs. Rather let us become oblivious of our own selves, and drinking down the wine of heavenly grace, let us cry out our joy, and lose ourselves in the beauty of the All-Glorious.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

iain (canberra, australia) left: The Fast is the time of year that I am continually reminded of how ridiculously lucky, thankful, and dare I say it, blessed I am – to have had the childhood and family life I have had, to have found the Faith, to have had the opportunity to serve at the Bahá’í World Centre, to have met the woman who is now my wife, and to be involved in a worldwide community of so many steadfast and dedicated souls, most notably our dear Friends in Iran. My morning photo is my wish for those imprisoned or persecuted for their beliefs, that they may be free, but also continually be guided by a higher power and greater force. My evening photo is a reflection of how far I still have to come, and how much I still have to learn, as I quickly approach the five year mark of my time as a Bahá’í (which I will celebrate on Naw-Rúz!).

leili h. (fort smith, canada) right: This is my first Fast as a pioneer in Northern Canada, the land of the breathtaking Northern Lights. In this part of the world, sunrise and sunset times for the purposes of the Fast are set to 6:30am-6pm every day. Fasting is always a special time for me. My favourite part of the Fast is the inward tranquility and the prayerful attitude I experience as byproducts of abstaining from food and drink. I also love sharing breakfast with my husband, when all is quiet and the world is sleeping around us. I use this time of the year to re-focus my priorities and re-align myself with the purpose of this life.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sjonabro said, on March 6, 2011 at 12:00 am

    can the dawns be any more perfect together?!

  2. pj said, on March 6, 2011 at 12:22 am

    Wow! Such beauty..

  3. Amysahba said, on March 6, 2011 at 2:18 am

    Absolutely beautiful. And I can’t quite get over your dawn pictures…

  4. Fiona said, on March 6, 2011 at 4:01 am

    the dawns are so in sync that it reminds me that sometimes humanity can be so in tune with one another, without ever being truly aware.
    beautiful.

  5. Elizabeth said, on March 6, 2011 at 10:52 am

    Unbelievable synchronicity going on here in those fantastic morning photos. Leili, your evening photo is just unreal! If those are typical sunsets in the NWT, I need to make a visit. Ian, your reflection was beautiful and inspiring, thank you.

  6. Leili said, on March 6, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    Ian! you read my mind;)

    This is very typical of sunrise/sunsets in the nwt, but they are never quite the same combination of colours. some mornings it looks like the entire sky is on fire and it is burning bright red and orange. unreal for sure!

    can’t wait to see the rest of the photos!

  7. Fary said, on March 7, 2011 at 6:38 am

    I can’t get over the dawn shots! both so so beautiful! thank you both for your talent and inspiration!


Leave a Reply

