nineteen days

day five

Posted in the fast - 2011 by leila on March 7, 2011

“I say unto you that anyone who will rise up in the Cause of God at this time shall be filled with the Spirit of God, and that He will send His hosts from heaven to help you and that nothing shall be impossible to you if you have faith. And now I give you a commandment which shall be for a covenant between you and me—that ye have faith; that your faith be steadfast as a rock that no storms can move, that nothing can disturb, and that it endure through all things even to the end; even should ye hear that your Lord has been crucified, be not shaken in your faith; for I am with you always, whether living or dead, I am with you to the end. As ye have faith so shall your powers and blessings be. This is the standard—this is the standard—this is the standard.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

“They that tread the path of faith, they that thirst for the wine of certitude, must cleanse themselves of all that is earthly—their ears from idle talk, their minds from vain imaginings, their hearts from worldly affections, their eyes from that which perisheth. They should put their trust in God, and, holding fast unto Him, follow in His way. Then will they be made worthy of the effulgent glories of the sun of divine knowledge and understanding, and become the recipients of a grace that is infinite and unseen, inasmuch as man can never hope to attain unto the knowledge of the All-Glorious, can never quaff from the stream of divine knowledge and wisdom, can never enter the abode of immortality, nor partake of the cup of divine nearness and favour, unless and until he ceases to regard the words and deeds of mortal men as a standard for the true understanding and recognition of God and His Prophets.”

Bahá’u’lláh

adib (bozeman, u.s.a) left: I find the Fast to be an excellent time for inner-reflection, and cleansing. I enjoy the fast and look at it as period when I can recharge my spiritual batteries for the coming year. I think photography has a somewhat similar calming and rejuvenating effect on my soul. My morning photo is of an abandoned shoe left in the snow on the side of a highway in Montana. My evening photo is of snow collected on the pines of a tree outside my apartment.

mauricio (haifa, israel) right: This year’s Fast arrived in a crucial moment in my life. A period where my service, here, at the Bahá’í World Centre is ending, and another, uncertain to some extent, is about to begin (relocating to an unknown area within the US with my wife). I can see now how the fast starts to take effect on me as I strive to get better and more focused during this time.

Last year being the most special Fast in my life (until then) where I felt the most connected ever, and this year the Fast has brought clarity and peace to my mind and I am able to focus on the things that really mater. I am trying to take in, as much as I can, my time in the Holy Shrines; every moment spent with those who were friends at some point and eventually feel like family; also looking at this “uncertainty” with new eyes and welcoming the change and getting excited for all the new opportunities we will have to serve wherever we end up relocating. And of course always being grateful and putting myself in God’s hands.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. fiona gohari said, on March 7, 2011 at 6:20 am

    I love how both sets are so different in their temperature, yet so similiar

  2. Fary said, on March 7, 2011 at 6:30 am

    Thank you both for these amazing quotations and shots!
    They touched the heart and made this fasting day even more special!

  3. paola dumet said, on March 7, 2011 at 7:47 am

    Thank you both for sharing these beautiful shots, these very inspiring Writings and your reflections on your fast. It is always very enriching to read how the fast inspires and renews Baha’is in many special ways in different parts of the world. I love nineteen days innitiative!

    Mauri, me encanto su amanecer!

  4. amysahba said, on March 7, 2011 at 11:17 am

    such sweet reflections. I find the Fast is really a catalyst for change Mauricio, so I hope it will help guide you in the best of ways!
    Adib, love that you managed to make a shoe in snow look so so beautiful.

  5. Marisela said, on March 7, 2011 at 11:52 am

    Me encanta haber encontrado este blog. Este año es mi segundo ayuno y es muy diferente al del año pasado. Something really nice is that my dad is fasting with me and my mom even though he is not bahá’í -oficialmente-. Las reflexiones y pensamientos que comparten me ayudan a entender más el significado de este acto and remind me that I’m not crazy for being happy by fasting….! thanks

  6. Patricia Dumet said, on March 7, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    Thanks to both of you for such beautiful pictures and touching quotes and reflections.
    It is so nice to have a peaceful time by the end of the day and enrich our souls with the “Nineteen days Project”. I love it.
    Mauri, siento que estamos profundamente conectados. Me encantaron las dos fotos.

  7. Druzelle Cederquist said, on March 7, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    I like the contrast here of Adib’s snow-on-pines (which at first glance looked like flowers to me) with Muaricio’s red berries. Shoe in snow – how very much it looked like a bird to me (beak on right). Even now that I know it’s a shoe, I like to see it as a bird.

    Rejuvenating captures the spirit of what I’m feeling too. I’ve realized that this Fast for me is in part a focus on healing and restoration on a physical level. On the level of spirit that seems to call forth a sense of treating myself with a new kindness. Even in the midst of the need for intense, focused work, the need to attend to the instrument needed to do that work.


Leave a Reply

