nineteen days

day seven

Posted in the fast - 2011 by leila on March 8, 2011

“These are the days of the Fast. Blessed is the one who through the heat generated by the Fast increaseth his love, and who, with joy and radiance, ariseth to perform worthy deeds. Verily, He guideth whomsoever He willeth to the straight path.”

Bahá’u’lláh

“Ye are the stars of the heaven of understanding, the breeze that stirreth at the break of day, the soft-flowing waters upon which must depend the very life of all men …”

Bahá’u’lláh

ronnie (london, u.k.) left: I feel that fasting is about spiritual calibration. When you take away all the ambient light away from a plant, it grows towards the only available light source. When I embark on the fast, I feel that I’m removing all ambient light and growing towards the original light source; God. My inner eye gains clarity and it isn’t long before I feel calibrated and re-orientated for the New Year. I love the Fast.

elizabeth (santa ana, costa rica) right: As a new parent, this fasting period has been dominated by reflection on the incredible gift and responsibility that is the care of a small child and the education of a young soul. Every action takes on new meaning in light of the humbling realization that so tender and impressionable a little being is absorbing and learning from the example I set. The Fast is always a time to refocus on the development of our inner spiritual qualities, endeavoring to realign them with our daily behavior. This year I feel the need for that all the more, knowing I am doing it not just for myself, but also for my daughter.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. amysahba said, on March 9, 2011 at 7:54 am

    such lovely images. and i love both of your reflections so so much. and elizabeth, yes, a hundred times, yes.

  2. Christian said, on March 9, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Awww, such a sweet picture of your daughter! I hope I will meet her some day. Maybe you’ll still be in Costa Rica when we finally visit this beautiful country.

  3. Sarah said, on March 9, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Fast, Ronnie-so true!

    Elizabeth, your daughter is adorable! As soon as our five-year-old saw her picture, he jumped up and asked if she is a superhero baby.

  4. Bahiehk said, on March 9, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    this one was beautiful. my favourite so far 😉

    thanks Elizabeth and Ronnie

    Bahieh K.

  5. Leili said, on March 10, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Oh, ELIZABETH. That baby.

    I think there is synchronicity in your sets – the gentle glow and tones on Ronnie’s curtains are in synch with baby girl. And the sparkle and dusky tones of, well, dusk are well-watched also.

  6. Creative Voice said, on March 10, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Hi all fellow fasters! Wow – what a wonderful blog, contributed to by fasting souls all around the world. Beautiful photos and inspiring throughts. I’m writing a daily fasting blog this year – a personal journey through these precious 19 days – as a way to keep me focused as I share my experiences through words and a photo now and then. It’s so great that Baha’is all over the world are sharing their experiences, dedicating their fasting to our fellow believers in Iran and assisting each other as we srtive to obey God’s will for today.
    Much love to you all,
    Fleur Missaghian (Wales)


Leave a Reply

