nineteen days

day twelve

Posted in the fast - 2011 by leila on March 13, 2011

“I entreat Thee to enable me to cleave steadfastly to Thy Love and Thy remembrance. This is, verily, within my power, and Thou art the One that knoweth all that is in me. Thou, in truth, art knowing, apprised of all. Deprive me not, O my Lord, of the splendors of the light of Thy face, whose brightness hath illuminated the whole world. No God is there beside Thee, the Most Powerful, the All-Glorious, the Ever-Forgiving.”

Bahá’u’lláh

“Blessed is he that hath set himself towards Thee, and hasted to attain the Day-Spring of the lights of Thy face. Blessed is he who with all his affections hath turned to the Dawning-Place of Thy Revelation and the Fountain-Head of Thine inspiration. Blessed is he that hath expended in Thy path what Thou didst bestow upon him through Thy bounty and favor. Blessed is he who, in his sore longing after Thee, hath cast away all else except Thyself. Blessed is he who hath enjoyed intimate communion with Thee, and rid himself of all attachment to any one save Thee.”

Bahá’u’lláh

elliott (ross creek, australia) left: This is my first year both as a husband and as a father, so I have felt a need to ponder specifically upon the qualities of integrity and steadfastness. Fasting is truly bringing this reflection to the forefront. I Fast because I am Baha’i. That I can practice my Faith freely is a bounty. I am trying to bear these in mind in my daily activities in order to reinforce patterns of behaviour appropriate for the new roles I am taking on.

omid (santa monica, u.s.a.) right: Each year the Fast brings me heightened mental clarity and awareness such that each thought that passes through my mind is amplified and made more manifest. It’s Spring-cleaning for the mind, wherein the mental dust, clutter and cobwebs that have settled in throughout the year are purged. The additional clarity and light the process lets in shines a spotlight on the thoughts that drift, and sometimes linger in my mind. Some years there is more cleaning to do than others, reminding me to be more consistent in my tidying up so that I may enjoy the mindful state, the clarity and light the Fast brings throughout the year.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fiona Gohari said, on March 14, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    Omid – I am so curious as to what your dawn photo is of, I have been trying to figure it out.

  2. Omid said, on March 17, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    Hi Fiona – The photo is a close-up detail shot of a hanging light fixture we have in our house. Sometimes you don’t realize how beautiful the objects in your house are until you’re looking for a picture to take around sunrise!


Leave a Reply

