nineteen days

day fourteen

Posted in the fast - 2011 by leila on March 16, 2011

“From the sweet-scented streams of Thine eternity give me to drink, O my God, and of the fruits of the tree of Thy being enable me to taste, O my Hope! From the crystal springs of Thy love suffer me to quaff, O my Glory, and beneath the shadow of Thine everlasting providence let me abide, O my Light! Within the meadows of Thy nearness, before Thy presence, make me able to roam, O my Beloved, and at the right hand of the throne of Thy mercy, seat me, O my Desire! From the fragrant breezes of Thy joy let a breath pass over me, O my Goal, and into the heights of the paradise of Thy reality let me gain admission, O my Adored One!”

Bahá’u’lláh

“On this plane, neither the reign of reason is sufficient nor the authority of self. Hence, one of the Prophets of God hath asked: ‘O my Lord, how shall we reach unto Thee?’ And the answer came, ‘Leave thyself behind, and then approach Me.’”

Bahá’u’lláh

shirin (beijing, china) left: Another fast in Beijing is coming to an end this weekend, & all I can think of is: didn’t it just begin the other day? I’ve enjoyed every minute, the bustle of waking up, praying together, letting the hunger pangs remind me that a huge portion of the world only eats once a day without complaining, the day-long struggle of bettering one’s actions, letting the just-before-eating giddiness set in with glee & subsequent giggles, sharing a lovely modest meal with friends who you care for, & looking forward to doing it all again tomorrow morning … The best part? Some friends we’ve made here have started fasting with us! As a sidenote: The gloriously huge Chinese lion I photographed is what I see on my daily walk. I love how he looks like he is eating his pom pom as if humiliated by the very suggestion! The other sleeping lion? That’s my husband.

kadria (toronto, canada) right: I always find the Fast to be an intense time. It seems to build and release spiritual tension as the soul is prepared and re-shaped for a new year, a fresh start. Part of the spiritual struggle for me this year has inspired comfort in small things. A heartfelt hug, the feel of a handmade quilt, a phone-call home, a visit with good friends. Moments to be grateful for. After a long photography hiatus, taking my photos for Nineteen Days today was another comforting moment. Just the act of walking around at dusk to watch the light was refreshing and helped me remember the importance of doing something that uplifts the soul.

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. namo said, on March 16, 2011 at 9:16 am

    awesome set! warm colors & sentinels.

  2. kadria said, on March 16, 2011 at 9:25 am

    beautiful photos, shirin! i love the different shades of red in all 4 photos 🙂 they go together so nicely. your words are lovely imagery as well!

  3. Elizabeth said, on March 16, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Such a fabulous, fabulous set. I love them all. Thanks for sharing your vision with us Shirin and Kadria!

  4. baktash said, on March 16, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    so coool!

  5. kat said, on March 16, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    beautiful set, you two! thank you so much! i also noticed the red tones in all four photos.

    kadria, i particularly loved the quotation you selected.

  6. Sarah said, on March 16, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    I love this post so much. The quotes, the photos and your thoughts are beautiful. Thank you 😀

  7. Layli said, on March 16, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    oh shirin, the dirty man face made it in to the shoot. i knew when you purchased that in jaffa, that it would be in many funny and amazing shoots – and am glad to see this is the first!!! so funny!
    kadria: your photos are amazing! your dusk could be in akko if i dont look beyond the gate/door/entrance!

    love both!

  8. Layli said, on March 16, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    OH! by ‘dirty man face’ i wasn’t referring to my brother. 😉 hee hee!

    • namo said, on March 17, 2011 at 9:48 pm

      thanks for clarifying. though it’s not often washed, my face is hardly “dirty man”

  9. shirin s. said, on March 16, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    Thanks everyone for your lovely comments! It was a pleasure to be a part of this amazing project again!
    @layli- I’m very partial to the dirty man face, i think of that day in Jaffa every time I look at him…so much fun!!

    • Layli said, on March 17, 2011 at 1:48 pm

      and we can’t forget that HOMMOS!?!?!??!?! THAT WAS INSANELY AMAZING!!

      • namo said, on March 17, 2011 at 9:49 pm

        MISHULESHET! i have a photo of it. you want a copy?

  10. Leili said, on March 17, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    I love your reds, and your reflections. This is a very textural set. Love your pair, Shirin – it took me some time to notice your husband in the frame! And Kadria – your sunset one is very dramatic.

  11. Amysahba said, on March 17, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Oh such a beautiful beautiful set!

  12. shirin s. said, on March 17, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    Thank Leili, can’t wait to see your entry!! :o)

  13. shirin s. said, on March 17, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    Layli! I can’t forget the hummus! best I’ve ever had in my LIFE.

    • Layli said, on March 19, 2011 at 3:31 am

      PLEASE tell namo to send me that dang photo. along with the others. thank you, shideen.

  14. […] Photo by Kadria Simons, source Nineteen Days […]


Leave a Reply

