nineteen days

day seventeen

Posted in the fast - 2011 by leila on March 18, 2011

“O my dear friend! Verily, my heart is united with thee even though my body is in a distant land, for verily neither long distance nor immense remoteness can prevent the union between hearts, because the clear hearts are in reality assembled in union in the Kingdom of God, while bodies are disperse in the east and west of the earth. This dispersion cannot stop the affinity and cannot veil the eye of soul from seeing in all directions.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

“I beseech Thee to aid and assist me at all times and under all conditions.”

Bahá’u’lláh

ryan (kinshasa, democratic republic of the congo) left: I was evicted from my bed last night by a plethora of winged termites (I hear they’re quite tasty) and woke this morning in unfamiliar surroundings. Of course, unfamiliar surroundings seem to be my forte as I am completely incapable of staying in one place any longer than absolutely necessary (that may as well be me in the photo above, with feet that may be planted squarely on one side of the gate, and my head already on the other). In the grips of my particular brand of peripateticism it’s hard sometimes to have any sense of progress, of development. But the fast always brings me back to my senses (if only temporarily), and see clearly how far I’ve gone, or more likely, how far I have left to go.

anyssa (brooklyn, u.s.a.) right: I don’t know if it’s an American term, but many of my peers refer to the early morning as “ungodly.” I’m naturally an early riser (a genetic predisposition I most likely inherited from my father) and when friends hear that my Saturday morning began at 7am, the response is usually: ‘my goodness gracious Anyssa, what do you do at that ungodly hour?’ To be honest, I can’t think of anything more Godly, than a giant flaming orb of gas, fire and light, rising over a darkened horizon and despite being a gazillion miles away holding the planets in a constant orbit – dancing around the sun like ballerinas in perpetual pirouette. And our little earth hangs in the delicate balance. We rise early with the sun during each day of the fast, and then see it set, and hopefully are reminded of how Godly this world is.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Layli said, on March 18, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    oh my, lovely shots dudezz!! i love the mood of all four of them!
    but please, ry, don’t make me look up words in the dictionary during the fast. come on, its hard enough and to enter “peripateticism” in to my dictionary…its too much for me right now. [wink wink wink]

    but your reflection{s} were both so beautiful and so honest and lovely. i thank you both for your honesty and openness with your reflections!! love you both!!

    • Layli said, on March 18, 2011 at 10:56 pm

      ry, i REALLY REALLY REALLY love your dawn one, esp. since it could totes be you. TOTEZZ.

  2. negeen said, on March 18, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    anyssa, i don’t even need to know where and how you captured that dawn image. i love the mystery as much as the rich, delicate image itself.

    ry, the blaring light adds even more meaning to your self reflection.

  3. Leili said, on March 19, 2011 at 12:34 am

    Love, love, love the Grand Central dawn!
    And the tone and mood of your Kinshasas, Ryan.

  4. golriz said, on March 19, 2011 at 2:08 am

    oooh! two of my favorite people merged into one batch of elegant prose and delightful pictures.

    x

  5. kat said, on March 19, 2011 at 7:37 am

    haha layli, i was just about to write the same sentiment! trust ryan to make me look up a word in the dictionary.

    beautiful words and images in this set. thank you both!

  6. Roya said, on March 19, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    anyssa, so emo. love it big time.

  7. Shirin said, on March 21, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    Anyssa, love that post!


Leave a Reply

