nineteen days

day sixteen

Posted in the fast - 2011 by leila on March 18, 2011

“I know not, O my God, what the Fire is which Thou didst kindle in Thy land. Earth can never cloud its splendor, nor water quench its flame. All the peoples of the world are powerless to resist its force. Great is the blessedness of him that hath drawn nigh unto it, and heard its roaring.”

Bahá’u’lláh

“O son of Spirit! Noble have I created thee, yet thou hast abased thyself. Rise then unto that for which thou wast created.”

Bahá’u’lláh

jalan (maputo, mozambique) left: It’s tough being day sixteen; anything eloquent, astute, witty, wise, insightful or original has already been shared by my thirty predecessors.

So I will take the Divine shortcut. It never disappoints.

Here is an excerpt from the Blessed Beauty that accompanies me closely during the 19 fasting days and remains close to me the remaining 346.

“Verily, the religion of God is like unto heaven; fasting is its sun, and obligatory prayer is its moon. In truth, they are the pillars of religion whereby the righteous are distinguished from those who transgress His commandments. We entreat God, exalted and glorified be He, that he may graciously enable all to observe that which He hath revealed in His Ancient Book.” ~ Bahá’u’lláh

leili towfigh (boston, u.s.a.) right:

17 March, Dawn
Ghostly morning bus
Rushing under gloaming sky
Make sure don’t miss it

17 March, Dusk
Magic hour glimmer
Skittering shadows away
Sorting my insides

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. shirin s. said, on March 18, 2011 at 1:19 am

    I adore both of you & everything that you create! SO gorgeous.

  2. Layli said, on March 18, 2011 at 1:26 am

    feelin’ the burnt orange hues in each of your shots! i want to be on that beach, jalan!
    and TOWFIGH! THE BUS!! amazing! it looks like you missed it! 😉

    love all four. love you two.
    bravo, brava, braviiiii!!!

    • Layli said, on March 18, 2011 at 1:27 am

      it also kind of looks like the garbage can missed the bus, just standing there all confused and dazed. hahahahaha.

    • Leili said, on March 18, 2011 at 9:57 am

      This is frequently a concern I have. Bus-missing. Symbolically.

    • Leili said, on March 18, 2011 at 10:04 am

      Oh – and I thought the same thing, L – I want to be on that beach! Ja, is that far from where you live?

  3. baktash said, on March 18, 2011 at 2:07 am

    lovely set!

  4. Elizabeth said, on March 18, 2011 at 2:19 am

    Gorgeous set! (And very eloquent and insightful reflections, in spite of being day 16!)

    • Leili said, on March 18, 2011 at 9:59 am

      Thank you Elizabeth! I like Jalan’s approach very very much.

  5. los angelista said, on March 18, 2011 at 2:26 am

    LLT – The recycle bin + public transportation + dawn + spring’s advent + fasting/giving up the excesses of the world = PRICELESS

    • Leili said, on March 18, 2011 at 10:02 am

      That poor recycling bin is kind’ve a dumping ground for the excesses of the world. The Fast tends to be a hard time for it …. 😉

  6. Peter said, on March 18, 2011 at 4:41 am

    Love these. The reds and the two dawns are particularly striking!

    • Leili said, on March 18, 2011 at 10:03 am

      Thank you so much. I was surprised by the serendipitous (not by prior agreement) similarity in our color schemes.

  7. shahla said, on March 18, 2011 at 6:14 am

    beautiful!

  8. Negin said, on March 18, 2011 at 7:26 am

    These are stunning! I think that’s actually my bus (literally, if that’s the view from your house, Leili, then that’s my stop!). I would be standing a bit to the left of the frame, which puts me…on Jalan’s beach – lovely. I feel transported by this set of photos 🙂
    Next time we could do a reprise of Layli-from-LA’s dawn shot (day 13) with me as the creepy garden gnome – an homage to the Aazami bros.

    This website gets me through the fasting day. I leave it open in my browser and go back to it when I need to hit the spiritual refresh button. Thanks for curating this much sheer beauty!

    • Leili said, on March 18, 2011 at 10:07 am

      Negin! That’s amazing!
      Why don’t I ever see you there? I wish I did.

      I love the image of you as a friendly spectre, cropping up to the left of my frame on a Maputo bus route, taking the place of Bobby Aazami as a creepy garden gnome in LA ….

      “Spiritual refresh button” strikes me as part of what happens during the Fast. Nice phrase.

      • Layli said, on March 19, 2011 at 3:30 am

        HAHAHAHAHAHAAA!!! CREEPY GARDEN GNOME FROM EL EH!??!?!?!? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

  9. negeen said, on March 18, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    leili, who needs 3D when you have such masterfully captured light on texture as your dusk photo? i keep touching my monitor convinced i’ll feel the bumps. it is spectacular.

    the arriving/departing/or just speeding past bus, the poetic reflections and the beach dawn with divinely rich colors make this one beautiful post. thank you lovely ladies!


Leave a Reply

