nineteen days

day eighteen

Posted in the fast - 2011 by leila on March 19, 2011

“O son of man! If thine eyes be turned towards mercy, forsake the things that profit thee and cleave unto that which will profit mankind. And if thine eyes be turned towards justice, choose thou for thy neighbour that which thou choosest for thyself. Humility exalteth man to the heaven of glory and power, whilst pride abaseth him to the depths of wretchedness and degradation.”

Bahá’u’lláh

“O my God! O my God! Unite the hearts of Thy servants and reveal to them Thy great purpose. May they follow Thy commandments and abide in Thy law. Help them, O God, in their endeavor, and grant them strength to serve Thee. O God! leave them not to themselves, but guide their steps by the light of knowledge, and cheer their hearts by Thy love. Verily, Thou art their Helper and their Lord.”

Bahá’u’lláh

mona (mannheim, germany) left: “O SON OF BEING! Thou art My lamp and My light is in thee. Get thou from it thy radiance and seek none other than Me. For I have created thee rich and have bountifully shed My favor upon thee.” ~Baha’u’llah (The Hidden Words)

alisa (taipei, taiwan) right: The 小籠包 Shao Long Bao are ready. The vendors have been hand-making them since 4:00 AM, as they do every morning, and if I ever complained of waking early for the Fast, my grumpiness is now humbled by this family’s steadfast cheer. The steaming bamboo pots breathe a wakeful smell into my nostrils. They’re ordered as fast as paid for, eaten in one bite. I order another – soft dough around meat and onions. It’s my day off, perfect for a bike tour. A water-conservation museum, a wall designated by the Taiwanese government for graffiti, a 100 km cycling path circling the city, a pick-up softball game, and a converted artists village open for exploring: the city’s creative gems. Time travels faster here. Swift nightfall signals to the lanterns to greet us with their warm glow. One more day.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Steven said, on March 19, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    For some years I worked in a bagel shop (even dreamed I was a Jewish scribe handing out bits of practice scribing) and used to wake up at 3am in order to get across town on a moped and be there for the whole opening store process and get the first bagels out – and still fast. It was under these conditions that one day I rode too early to work and instead headed off into the dew soaked rose garden so early one morning to compose an ode of betrothal to my intended one who gladly accepted.

    Now years later I’m forbidden to fast because of medical reasons. It’s interesting how all encompassing the law is. So it is that I seek out the path of breaking the fast while keeping it.


Leave a Reply

