nineteen days

day nineteen

Posted in the fast - 2011 by leila on March 20, 2011

“Rely upon God. Trust in Him. Praise Him, and call Him continually to mind. He verily turneth trouble into ease, and sorrow into solace, and toil into utter peace. He verily hath dominion over all things.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

amy (massachusetts, u.s.a.) left: and just like that, everything changes. and it is the most beautiful, welcome, challenging, moving journey.

leila (colorado, u.s.a.) right: Feeling thankful. Grateful for friends, family, faith, love, health, and life. Appreciating good meals at the end of long days, courtesy of friends (feeling lucky, too). Feeling thankful also for this yearly project, which fills me up with inspiration, collaboration, and harmony. (Would you believe that Amy and I chose the same quote for today?) (Oh you’d better believe it.)

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Scott said, on March 20, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    An intriguing conclusion to yet another year of thoughtful meditations. Thank you both/all. Allah-u-Abha.

  2. Chris said, on March 21, 2011 at 3:22 am

    Day by day you have accompanied me through my fast. Thank you to all the contributors. Inspiring.

  3. kat said, on March 21, 2011 at 3:34 am

    INCREDIBLE.

    SAME QUOTATION?? !!

    Leila, I love the yellow in your dawn shot. It reminds me of Amy’s contribution from last year! Amy, I am sure you are receiving countless blessings in your first year as a mother. I can only imagine what a journey it must be!

    Thank you both again for this project.

    Much love and HAPPY NAW RUZ!

  4. Maike said, on March 21, 2011 at 5:26 am

    Amy and Leila,

    I just wanted to thank you for this marvelous initiative that helped me bring more beauty and awareness into my Fast… Leila, I too am a mum of 2 little ones – the smallest one just 10 months old – and have been able to fast physically this year for the first time in a while….It’s been a special fast, and your blog was my daily spiritual break at work and kept me going. Thanks everyone for the remarkable contributions.

    Happy Naw-Ruz from Kosovo!

  5. Elizabeth said, on March 21, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    First, thank you for these beautiful images and for letting me share in this special process again this year.

    Second, I can’t believe you both chose *that* quote. I sing it to my daughter every night before she goes to sleep.

    • Maike said, on March 22, 2011 at 11:12 am

      Hi Elizabeth, did you make up the melody for the quote? Is it out there on the www somewhere for me to listen to? I love the idea of singing this to my children – add a quote to my limited repertoire 😉 Thanks!

  6. Leili said, on March 21, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Amy, your morning light is lovely. And that baby’s ineffably sweet little feet ….. lovely.
    Leila, the purity and glow from your petals is gorgeous, and I love the contrast with the opposite-of-the-color-wheel cobalt sky.

    AMAZING, though not surprising, that you chose the same quotation.

    Thank you so much, both of you.

    • Leili said, on March 21, 2011 at 6:11 pm

      Actually, not cobalt – cerulean? Azure, perhaps?

  7. Fary said, on March 21, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    These are amazing girls!!! I love love love both Dawns and Amy the little shoes are sooooo cute!!! very warm colors and themes! Not to mention the quotation, what a beautiful way to end these nineteen days 🙂 thank you both!
    love xxx

  8. amy said, on March 21, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    oh leila, it is such an honor to collaborate with you every year.
    and elizabeth – i was humming that prayer all day, i sing it to O all the time as well!

  9. Sarah said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    Beauty, loveliness and sweetness. I hope I don’t miss you too much after this. xoxo

  10. shirin s. said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    Amy – baby feet!!!! your dawn is so magical amy love!
    Leila – I adore the contrast of colours together, so lovely…

    You two are just wonderful!


Leave a Reply

