nineteen days

Naw-Rúz

Posted in naw ruz, the fast - 2011 by leila on March 21, 2011

“Glorified, immeasurably glorified art Thou, O Lord! Every man of insight is far astray in his attempt to recognize Thee, and every man of consummate learning is sore perplexed in his search after Thee….”

“Every evidence falleth short of Thine unknowable Essence and every light retreateth and sinketh below the horizon when confronted with but a glimmer of the dazzling splendour of Thy might….”

“Bestow on me, O my Lord, Thy gracious bounty and benevolent gifts and grant me that which beseemeth the sublimity of Thy glory. Aid me, O my Lord, to achieve a singular victory….”

“Open Thou the door of unfailing success before me and grant that the things Thou hast promised may be close at hand. Thou art in truth potent over all things….”

“Refresh my heart, O my God, with the living waters of Thy love and give me a draught, O my Master, from the chalice of Thy tender mercy….”

“Let me abide, O my Lord, within the habitation of Thy glory, and suffer me, O my God, to emerge from the darkness in which Thy divine obscurity is shrouded….”

“Enable me to partake of every good Thou hast vouchsafed unto Him Who is the Point and unto such as are the exponents of His Cause, and ordain for me that which beseemeth Thee and well becometh Thy station….”

“Do Thou graciously forgive me for the things that I have wrought in Thy holy presence, and look not upon me with the glance of justice, but rather deliver me through Thy grace, treat me with Thy mercy and deal with me according to Thy bountiful favours, as is worthy of Thy glory….”

“Thou art the Ever-Forgiving, the All-Glorious, the Bestower of favours and gifts, the Lord of grace abounding. Verily no God is there but Thee. Thou art the All-Possessing, the Most High.”

Bahá’u’lláh

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kadria said, on March 21, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    soooo beautiful! what an amazing way to wrap up such a special, momentous time of year. each image is so enthralling in its own way. what a bounty to be part of this project!

  2. Leili said, on March 21, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    Shiver me timbers!

  3. Fiona Gohari said, on March 21, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    words cannot express how much I love this final post…and that’s saying something, for me! This has been one of the most exciting things I have had the bounty to be involved in, to be in unison with so many talented people with striking visions, from across this great world. Thank you to all!

  4. Katharine Key said, on March 21, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    thank you to the organizers and the photographers for this beautiful inspiration throughout the Fast.

  5. Ashley Southall said, on March 22, 2011 at 2:11 am

    A breathtaking collection of shots. Just noticed Bobby’s Photoshopped mirror – made my day!

  6. Leili Egea said, on March 22, 2011 at 5:38 am

    Amaaaaaaaaazing!!!
    Thank you everyone for the amazing pictures and Amy and Leila for the great opportunity!
    Happy Naw Ruz, everyone!

  7. amy said, on March 22, 2011 at 7:05 am

    i had to come back this morning to look at this all with fresh eyes and yes, i still love this so so much.

  8. Sally Big Woods said, on March 22, 2011 at 9:12 am

    Beautiful!

  9. Sonjel said, on March 22, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    Thank you!! This set of photos is stunning and perfectly wraps up what has become an integral and special feature of my fast. Thank you to all the photographers for all the inspiring photos, for sharing your reflections, and for the uplifting quotations. And a huge muchos gracias to Amy and Leila for organizing the project. Please make these last 2 years into books too — I want them all on coffee table so I can pour over image every fast! 🙂

  10. Alison said, on March 22, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Amazingly beautiful! Happy New Year, everyone!

  11. Bobby Aazami said, on March 22, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Happy Naw Ruz everyone! It was great sharing this concept with all of you and seeing through your lens.

  12. Elliott Vreeland said, on March 22, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    I love everybody.

  13. Layli said, on March 23, 2011 at 2:37 am

    BIG BIG UPS TO AMY AND LEILA. you guys are amazing.

  14. Mehran said, on March 23, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    ok, seriously, awesome.

  15. noosh. said, on March 26, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    oh i love these. they make me so happy.

  16. This Good Life said, on July 5, 2011 at 8:05 am

    Wow, this is a really stunning sequence of photos augmented by beautiful, prayerful quotes. I am not a Bahá’í, but as a religious blogger, I greatly appreciated feasting my eyes on this. Look forward to ‘following’ this blog!

    Blessings,
    This Good Life


Leave a Reply

