nineteen days

day three

Posted in the fast - 2012 by amysahba on March 4, 2012

“O my brother! Hearken to the delightsome words of My honeyed tongue, and quaff the stream of mystic holiness from My sugar-shedding lips. Sow the seeds of My divine wisdom in the pure soil of thy heart, and water them with the water of certitude, that the hyacinths of My knowledge and wisdom may spring up fresh and green in the sacred city of thy heart.”

Bahá’u’lláh

“From the sweet-scented streams of Thine eternity give me to drink, O my God, and of the fruits of the tree of Thy being enable me to taste, O my Hope! From the crystal springs of Thy love suffer me to quaff, O my Glory, and beneath the shadow of Thine everlasting providence let me abide, O my Light!”

Bahá’u’lláh

brianna baggett/left (silverstrand, u.s.a.): I find a certain kind of solace during these days of fasting. A quiet calm that allows me to take a step back and remember the bigger picture, and to appreciate everything I  have in life. Most days it is easy to forget—in a world that is filled with a pressure to always want more.

shirin sahba moore/right (beijing, china): Our family table has fulfilled its purpose in life. Our meals, our prayers, our study circles, our work, everything: all the magic happens at this very table. During the Fast we take greater efforts to bring our loved ones together at this exact spot. I can only hope that my life will be as fulfilling as this table’s. Oh, & by the way, I promise we are very chirpy morning people, contrary to what my morning shot tragically depicts.

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. amysahba said, on March 4, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    what a gloriously beautiful day it was in both China and the US. Thank you dear ones… feeling so blissful after seeing your work and reading your words.

  2. Leili said, on March 4, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Lovely – love the continuity between your dawns and dusks (Brianna’s sand color and Shirin’s continuing calligraphic tablecloth). And Shirin – oh! Ranunculus!!!

  3. Adrienne Warren said, on March 4, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    This is a truly incredible experience!
    I feel like I am with all of you through these daily pictures, and that we are sharing this Fast together, in spite of our distance, and in spite of the fact that our paths have never crossed.
    Allah-u-Abha, my friends and loved ones around this beautiful world, and may this Fast be the best of your lives.

  4. Sarah said, on March 4, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    Absolutely love it.

  5. Ashley Southall said, on March 5, 2012 at 4:39 am

    Again, uncanny similarities in composition! Can you read the writing on the tablecloth? If so – what does it say? X

  6. Fiona Gohari said, on March 5, 2012 at 6:51 am

    love love love the continuity of your two images, Shirin. This was an absolute treat to view today.

  7. Bobby The Aazami said, on March 5, 2012 at 8:22 am

    I said it before and I’ll say it again, I love the collaboration of the dynamic duo that is Shirin & Naim! Well done everyone. Great images all around.

  8. Sarah Ross-Lazarov said, on March 5, 2012 at 11:31 am

    I love your morning photo! We felt like that this morning. ❤

  9. shirin sahba moore said, on March 5, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    A huge thanks to you all for your sweet comments! It’s an honour to be part of this amazing project yet again, the biggest thanks goes to Amy & Leila for all their hard work in making all the magic happen! I adore your photos Brianna, they give me this California dreamin’ feeling, so ethereal, calm & beautiful!

    Leili – Ranunculus flowers ALWAYS remind me of you!! You know it!
    Ashley – good luck reading the table cloth! It’s a hodge podge of calligraphic activity!

  10. leila said, on March 5, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    I keep coming back to look at these pictures together! And I ADORE the ripple-echo of the quotes.

    Am I reaching, or is there a bent-over palm tree + light bokeh in Brianna’s photo that imitates Na’im’s headdesk form in Shirin’s?

    xxoo

    • Della V. said, on March 6, 2012 at 12:47 am

      TOTALLY. Amazing.

  11. leila said, on March 5, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    AND! And! Palm-tree bobble-head in Brianna’s = Shirin eating breakfast in Shirin’s? Ooooooh.

  12. kamran said, on March 5, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    Naim and Shirin- you guys look like me during breakfast too!

  13. Sahba Rohani said, on March 6, 2012 at 10:02 am

    i LOVED the emotion that these photographs conveyed. thank you so much for sharing a part of yourselves with us today.


Leave a Reply

