nineteen days

day six

Posted in the fast - 2012 by leila on March 7, 2012

… we should try and make every stumbling-block a stepping-stone to progress.”

Shoghi Effendi

“O God! Refresh and gladden my spirit. Purify my heart. Illumine my powers. I lay all my affairs in Thy hand. Thou art my Guide and my Refuge. I will no longer be sorrowful and grieved; I will be a happy and joyful being. O God! I will no longer be full of anxiety, nor will I let trouble harass me. I will not dwell on the unpleasant things of life. O God! Thou art more friend to me than I am to myself. I dedicate myself to Thee, O Lord.”

 ‘Abdu’l-Bahá


fiona gohari/left (sydney, australia): Twelve months soared by, nestled between the toes of an enigmatic eagle. The abundance of light bounced through the shadows, whilst the spiders busily spun their webs only to be challenged by the sweet tender breezes of a blessed love. Breathe in, and breathe out. Breathe in, hold your breath, and dwell within the walls of its comfort, listen to its beating tenderness and embrace the searing warmth within the silences of its fingers. Twelve months come to a close, yet delicately unfurl an infinitely laced union.

philip blyth/right (queens, u.s.a.): For the past 4 years, I have had to be content with a “light” version of the Fast, on doctor’s orders. This came at a time when I was finally maturing into it, enjoying the feeling of deprivation and turning it into fertile spiritual soil. Now I have to find alternatives that still leave me feeling vaguely guilty… “only fruit and water during the day” doesn’t really compare to the real deal. Once your Fast starts becoming wishy-washy like that, you start taking breakfasting before sunrise less seriously. This Fast is about regaining that discipline inherent to it, and concentrating on the its real purpose.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Leila said, on March 7, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    Just look at these pictures. Makes me ridiculously happy.

  2. amysahba said, on March 7, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    truly beautiful. i love the moodiness of these images. what an incredible use of light&darkness in all of them.

    and fiona – so beautifully said!

  3. Linda Marshall Youssefian said, on March 8, 2012 at 1:13 am

    Love your posts. how can i send this to a friend of min so that it will be delivered to hr inbox. Think this makes a wonderful ‘gift’ for someone.

    Loving greetings! and happy and joyous fasting!

  4. Sarah said, on March 8, 2012 at 4:56 am

    How sweet! Your posts touch the heart.

  5. Della said, on March 8, 2012 at 6:24 am

    I LOVE this guys. Your photos and reflections – just divine!

  6. Leili said, on March 8, 2012 at 10:39 am

    Wonderful posts! They are a perfect combination. Thank you!

  7. emiliabrasier said, on March 9, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    I really like the young women with the umbrella photo.

  8. Alison said, on March 10, 2012 at 12:07 am

    So complimentary!


Leave a Reply

