nineteen days

day eleven

Posted in the fast - 2012 by amysahba on March 13, 2012

“O God, my God! Stay not from me the gentle gales of Thy pardon and grace, and deprive me not of the wellsprings of Thine aid and favor. ‘Neath the shade of Thy protecting wings let me nestle, and cast upon me the glance of Thine all-protecting eye.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

“Fasting is the cause of awakening man. The heart becomes tender and the spirituality of man increases.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá


negeen sobhani/left (oklahoma, u.s.a.): Fasting always puts under a microscope what has been moving around in my mind for the past several months. I’ve pulled the brakes on so many things in my life only to devote more of myself to what really matters. And yet, at some point, we just have to let go of what we try so hard to protect and realize that we are all in the best of Hands, and everything will be just fine. Just fine.

jaclyn leaver/right (austin, u.s.a): This Fast has chipped away at my hardened shell. It has wiggled its way under my skin, into my body, passing through my veins, and has left my heart exposed, raw and pounding. It has allowed me to stare myself in the mirror and accept who I am. Not who I appear to be.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] blog. This year 36 photographers from 19 countries participated. These are the photos I entered for my post, followed by my reflection for the […]

  2. negeen said, on March 13, 2012 at 12:14 am

    Love how Jaclyn’s photos seem to reflect what’s going on in the minds of my photos. 🙂

  3. Alison Bird said, on March 13, 2012 at 12:32 am

    I’m so very touched by your personal reflections. Thank you.

  4. Brianna Baggett said, on March 13, 2012 at 12:53 am

    i love how both left and right compliment each other so well. the blue color of the towel and the sky pull at my eyeballs and i can’t help but stare just a bit longer. great work both of you!!

  5. Sarah said, on March 13, 2012 at 2:24 am

    Beautiful-inside and out.

  6. Leili Egea said, on March 13, 2012 at 5:25 am

    These photos are absolutely gorgeous, and i love that you got to do this together!
    Negeen, your cuties have grown!!
    Jack, amazing dawn.

  7. Amysahba said, on March 13, 2012 at 9:47 am

    What a beautiful set of photos – and your reflections both deeply resonated with me. Thank you my darlings.

  8. Bobby The Aazami said, on March 15, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    Negeen and Jaclyn, I love your shots and I love your colors. And I love how they compliment one another.

  9. Susan said, on March 18, 2012 at 8:29 am

    That gorgeous little girl looks like she is being buffeted by the gentle gales of His pardon and grace. Beautiful.


Leave a Reply

