nineteen days

day four

Posted in day four, the fast - 2013 by leila on March 5, 2013

“The darkness of this gloomy night shall pass away. Again the Sun of Reality will dawn from the Horizon of the hearts. Have patience; wait; but do not sit idle. Work while you are waiting; smile when you are wearied with monotony; be firm while everything around you is being shaken. Be joyous while the ugly face of despair grins at you; speak aloud while the malevolent forces of the nether world try to crush your mind; be valiant and courageous while men all around you are cringing with fear and cowardice.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

“Thou hast asked Me concerning the nature of the soul. Know, verily, that the soul is a sign of God, a heavenly gem whose reality the most learned of men hath failed to grasp, and whose mystery no mind, however acute, can ever hope to unravel.”

Bahá’u’lláh

Sunrise bri smallchristian dawn smallSunset bri smallchristian dusk small

brianna baggett/left (brooklyn, ny, usa):

The fast is such a true reminder for me.
To pray more. To be less selfish. To let go of things past.
To realign my heart, my head and my soul. To find the path and
direction I may have strayed away from.
To not be scared of wildly living an adventure.
I have my tests, but I have my focus.
And I’m thankful for this reflecting release.

christian naenny/right (zurich, switzerland): I feel with Kat Eghdamian … on the first day I wasn’t doing well. But the longer the Fast lasts, the better I do.  I actually get to use that extra time around lunch in some meaningful way.

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fiona said, on March 5, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    “I have my tests, but I have my focus.”
    Great imagery and writings, Brianna.

    Christian – composure of your shot at dawn is beautiful.

  2. Dianne said, on March 5, 2013 at 7:25 pm

    Amazing quote from ‘Abdu’l-Bahá. Thank you so much for taking the time…
    And, as Fiona says, very well said about the tests and the focus. Going to tack that one up on my bulletin board for a while.

  3. :: layli :: said, on March 5, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    BRI!!! your words touched me so deeply. your dawn photo rocks my world! christian – i adore your shots, particularly the dusk…so quiet, so still. beautiful work, ya’ll. xo

  4. amysahba said, on March 5, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    truly truly beautiful. thank you both so much.

  5. Leili E. said, on March 5, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous pictures! Thank you, Brianna and Christian!

  6. Mahfar said, on March 5, 2013 at 11:01 pm

    Beautiful beautiful quotes! Thank you.

  7. Parisa said, on March 5, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    beautiful quotes and pictures. Do you know what the reference is from the first quote by Abdul-Baha?

    • leila said, on March 5, 2013 at 11:59 pm

      Hi, Parisa! If you click on ‘Abdu’l-Baha’s name under that quote, it will take you to a page that is an electronic text of Star of the West, Volume 11 – Issue 4. If you Ctl+F “darkness of this gloomy night”, then it will take you to the part where ‘Abdu’l-Baha is quoted by May Maxwell. In general if we can find an authentic online source for a quote, we link it through the name of the author. Hope this helps!

    • Brianna said, on March 6, 2013 at 6:11 am

      (The quote is from Fire and Gold, section of ‘the self’)

  8. Bobby The Aazami said, on March 6, 2013 at 12:20 am

    Exceptional shooting everyone! Very complimentary to one another. Thanks for sharing your reflections as well!

  9. Paul Aziz said, on March 6, 2013 at 9:06 am

    Great post Brianna and Christian. High quality awe-inspiring photography
    That first quote really connected with me.

  10. golriz said, on March 6, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    such lovely imagery and reflections.

  11. Negeen Sobhani said, on March 11, 2013 at 11:21 pm

    Brie-on-a-Baguette (blame your sister for ever pointing that out to me), you perfectly captured that haze between sleep and consciousness I slip back and forth between every morning when I fast. The blue tone, the barely-made bed, the posture, the quality of light: I love it all.

    Christian, wonderful breathing space.

    Thank you!


Leave a Reply

