nineteen days

day six

Posted in day six, the fast - 2013 by leila on March 7, 2013

Therefore I say that man must travel in the way of God. Day by day he must endeavor to become better, his belief must increase and become firmer, his good qualities and his turning to God must be greater, the fire of his love must flame more brightly; then day by day he will make progress, for to stop advancing is the means of going back. The bird when he flies soars ever higher and higher, for as soon as he stops flying he will come down. Every day, in the morning when arising you should compare today with yesterday and see in what condition you are. If you see your belief is stronger and your heart more occupied with God and your love increased and your freedom from the world greater then thank God and ask for the increase of these qualities. You must begin to pray and repent for all that you have done that is wrong and you must implore and ask for help and assistance that you may become better than yesterday so that you may continue to make progress.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

“Verily I seek patience only in God, and Him do I regard as the goal of My desire.”

the Báb

iainsimmons dawn smallJ Leaver Dawn smalliainsimmons dusk smallJ Leaver Dusk small

iain simmons/left (canberra, act, australia): As I waited on our balcony around sunrise for a photo opportunity to present itself, I couldn’t help but think about opportunity and confirmations. I thought about how blessed my wife and I are. We met while serving together in the Holy Land, and yet I feel that we will never truly be able to serve enough for what we have been given. Every step of the way we have been confirmed in what we do. This world is a world is full of opportunity, and the confirmations are there … He is just waiting for us to spread our wings and fly.

jaclyn leaver/right (washington, dc, usa): the Fast is passing quickly this year,  but at the same time it is allowing me to be present in every moment of my day. i am finding i listen more intently to the words of a prayer, am more aware of the surroundings i find myself in, and have greater clarity about what i want out of this year. i like this space. i hope it continues.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fiona said, on March 7, 2013 at 7:49 pm

    Look how in-sync you both are with the hues in both of your images.

  2. Brianna said, on March 7, 2013 at 9:51 pm

    I agree with Fiona! So complimentary to one another. Really love both dawn photos.

  3. Kadria said, on March 7, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    Beautiful quotations, images, and words!

  4. ashley said, on March 10, 2013 at 2:21 am

    Ditto the above. That quote from ‘Abdu’l-Baha really resonates. We can’t achieve it all in one day but as long as we end each day better than the one before, we are making progress.

  5. Negeen Sobhani said, on March 11, 2013 at 11:57 pm

    Jack, your morning shot wants to pull me back in, just like my own bed does every morning, and your dusk shot makes me want to retreat home to family as darkness settles in. Both really resonate with me. And make me miss my Oklahoma girl. xo


Leave a Reply

