nineteen days

day seven

Posted in day seven, the fast - 2013 by leila on March 8, 2013

A lover feareth nothing and no harm can come nigh him: Thou seest him chill in the fire and dry in the sea. A lover is he who is chill in hell fire; A knower is he who is dry in the sea.

Baháulláh

“O SON OF MAN! If thou lovest Me, turn away from thyself; and if thou seekest My pleasure, regard not thine own; that thou mayest die in Me and I may eternally live in thee.”

Baháulláh

8.7.13 Dawn Shot adrienne smallChad Mauger 8 March 2013 Dawn small8.7.13 Sunset Shot adrienne smallChad Mauger 8 March 2013 Dusk small

adrienne warren/left (tallinn, estonia): So far what has struck me most is how much this Fast has created time. But, completely still time. No matter how busy the days are, internally there is still a vast peaceful space. A space which motivates me to be better, to try to give as much love as I have been given, which reminds me that I am blessed beyond my deserving … and, above all, to keep going. Just keep going.

chad mauger/right (adelaide, sa, australia):

Alone at dawntide
Sun peeking through as rain fell
This is my place, here

Social at sundown
Gathered for food and friendship
This is my place, here

This morning I ventured out alone, to contemplate the dawn and my place in the world. Tonight I broke the Fast with family, friends and good Persian food. Reflecting on the physical aspects of the Fast I found that, while I struggle to eat so early in the morning as it makes me slightly nauseous, things taste so much better than usual when I finally break the Fast in the evening. This year the Fast has challenged me to rethink old habits. I wonder what next year will bring.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fiona said, on March 8, 2013 at 10:54 pm

    Loving the blue and orange in both of your dawn captures

  2. :: layli :: said, on March 9, 2013 at 2:22 am

    adrienne – your dawn is so perfect. i love the feeling, everything seems so…quiet and still, much like how it feels waking to eat and pray…

    chad – i love the richness to your set; i can really sense the power of the Fast that you are experiencing.

    claps, claps.

  3. Nancy said, on March 9, 2013 at 6:06 am

    The sense of stillness and balance in these images feels right for the Fast, and especially this year’s Fast where for the first time I am fasting alone. Interesting that the colors blue and orange are what is used in restaurants to make people feel more “hungry” and yet here they create an atmosphere of composure. Well done Adrienne and Chad.

  4. Dianne said, on March 9, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    Love these!!!!! All four! And love what both photographers wrote. I think that’s maybe what I like the most of these posts, is reading how other people see/experience the fast. Lovely!

  5. ashley said, on March 10, 2013 at 2:15 am

    Lovely colours. Amazing how the sets mirror eachother.

  6. Rachelle M. Royer-Llamas said, on March 11, 2013 at 11:21 am

    Colors in the weave are spectacular especially with the praying hands in the forefront. The mellow relaxing blues near the buildings is like water, healing and peaceful. The colors in sunset sky and the still life of fruits have an amazingly similar palette. So inspired. THanks .

  7. Negeen Sobhani said, on March 12, 2013 at 12:00 am

    Adrienne, I love the cool blue and warm orange of your dawn shot. I always feel both in the mornings when I fast.
    Chad, what a sunrise! Nice!


Leave a Reply

