nineteen days

day ten

Posted in day ten, the fast - 2013 by leila on March 11, 2013

“… make of me a shining lamp, and a brilliant star.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

Verily, I pray God to make thee the sign of guidance among the maid-servants of the Merciful, to enkindle in thy heart a spark of that fire which was ignited in the Sinaitic Tree and to give thee to drink an overflowing cup from the choice wine of the love of God, until the intoxication of that wine may so prevail upon thee that thou mayest thereby forget all else save God, be attracted to the Beauty of God, glorify thy Lord and sanctify Him during morn and eve.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

anyssa dawn smallnineteendays1lugschtehle small anyssa dusk smallnineteendays2lugschtehle small

anyssa samari/left (brooklyn, ny, usa):

This is my window. And this is my street.

A short list of things I have learned between the dates of 2 March 2013 and 11 March 2013:
– The people that own the laundromat next to my home on Pacific st. eat bread standing in their doorstep at around 6:15 every morning. They also have a dog. I don’t know the dogs name.
– I can do difficult things. Like not eat or drink for 12 hours. This is a good thing to learn for future reference when (inevitably) I will be faced with other difficult things that I will need to do.
– It is impossible to drink very hot tea very fast.
– prayer is like a fire.
– both Martha and Roja agree that eggs keep you full the longest.
– generally speaking, people are inquisitive, curious, accepting and receptive. And God pray I can construct a sentence when they come to me with questions.
– Scientifically speaking, due to atmospheric refraction the sun can appear to still be above the horizon when its is, in fact, set.
– moving slowly (even in New York city) is growing on me.
– I have some of the most enlightening, smart, courageous, and precious people in my life. They are giants of love and spirit. My task: grow my heart so it can keep them in it and still have space for more.
– Because there is always room for more.

lindsey lugsch-tehle/right (saint peter, mn, usa): I’ve always experienced the Fast as a time of meaningful transition; and this year is no exception.  On February 26th my husband and I were invited to serve for the next two and a half years at the World Center…we leave on March 26th.  Meaning this Fast is especially permeated with openness, trust, purification, and detachment as we organize our affairs, say farewell to our loved ones, and prepare, as best we can, for what lies ahead. The bounties are endless.  The gratitude is overflowing. And in utter humility, we turn to the Blessed Beauty.

Tagged with:

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Della said, on March 12, 2013 at 12:13 am

    Love love love those reflections Anyssa. Not to mention your photos ladies. Thank you both!

  2. samimi said, on March 12, 2013 at 1:35 am

    beautiful photos and thoughts, both of you lovely, lovely women. anyssa – your dawn photo so beautifully captures the beginnings of spring in brooklyn, i know this feeling so well, and you got it, grrl. i totally feel you about the drinking hot beverages quickly. coffee is also no exception. i almost made myself sick this morning chugging my hot coffee. lindsey, i am so thrilled for you & adam, you are both so ever blessed. both of your photos feel so thoughtful and clear. love you both. xo

  3. Paul Aziz said, on March 12, 2013 at 2:48 am

    Nice post ladies 🙂
    Best of luck Lindsey in the World Centre, such a blessing.

  4. Fiona said, on March 12, 2013 at 5:54 am

    Anyssa, your reflection was quite unique to this project. A breath of fresh air, and gave me a glimpse into what you’ve been experiencing these past few days leading up to your submission in a way that is very visual.
    Lindsay, so happy for you and this beautiful journey ahead. I am sure that it’s going to be incredibly fulfilling both on an inspirational level, and spiritual level.

  5. dennis said, on March 12, 2013 at 7:11 am

    I so look forward each morning to reading and sharing the posts. They are a blessing and give me strength and solace. thank you.

  6. rachellemroyer said, on March 12, 2013 at 10:45 am

    Short list of things you’ve learned is so refreshing. “God help me to construct a sentence”, cracked me up. The delay in thought process -the patience I hope the enquirer will have and me also. Slowing down in general is a blessing and challenge.

  7. rachellemroyerllamas said, on March 12, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    Hi- my name is Rachelle.  I’ve been really inspired by “nineteen days”.  Recently started a wordpress page to begin to teach more and connect with other Baha’i artists.  Would it be possible to try to contribute a photo to nineteen days before the fast is complete?  Or, are the artists already invited and chosen for this year?  I’m new at all this computer stuff since I didn’t have a good working computer for 20 years.  Learning though……as much as I can….. because  images and spiritual writings are sooo important to me.

    Attached are two pic’s.  “Bottles and town hall” was taken last night at dusk.  Blues at dawn and dusk are so tranquil.  Just looking at the color fills me with contentment, remembering in every moment the Divine. “Driving home” was taken between my old home and my new home.   Friends, children, artists, family, flora, trees, flowers, bulbs, farms in this county, on this land, in my heart.

    ________________________________

  8. Nevin jenkins said, on March 12, 2013 at 6:46 pm

    Great reflections. For at least half of them, I was thinking the same thing. Thank you for sharing anyssa.
    And Lindsey, what a bounty it is to prepare yourself spiritually before serving. I wish you and your husband the best.

  9. Bobby The Aazami said, on March 13, 2013 at 12:15 am

    Anyssa, I like the idea behind your reflections. I also like the way you’ve contrasted cool colors against a warmer backdrop. Lindsay, what can I say, old friend? I’m so happy for you and Adam on this new journey. These brown eyes are green with envy as I wish you both the best on your service 🙂


Leave a Reply

