nineteen days

day eleven

Posted in day eleven, the fast - 2013 by leila on March 12, 2013

“O God, my God, my Beloved, my heart’s Desire.

the Báb

“I entreat Thee by Thy footsteps in this wilderness, and by the words “Here am I. Here am I” which Thy chosen Ones have uttered in this immensity, and by the breaths of Thy Revelation, and the gentle winds of the Dawn of Thy Manifestation, to ordain that I may gaze on Thy beauty and observe whatsoever is in Thy Book.

Baháulláh

AlisonBird_Dawn_Kampala_12March2013 smalldawnAlisonBird_Dusk_Kampala_12March2013 smalldusk

alison bird/left (kampala, uganda): This year’s Fast has abounded with blessings.  From the bounty of breaking the Fast almost every day with dear friends to the honor of visiting and praying at the Bahá’í House of Worship for the African continent to the many unexpected opportunities that have arisen to share this beloved Faith with colleagues and new friends in an almost seamless manner—I am filled with a sense of immense gratitude and love.

zach miloff/right (halifax, nova scotia, canada): Pursuing detachment, acceptance and surrender. And trusting that there is in fact good reason in the mysteries of the unknown. This is what I’m fasting for.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mahfar said, on March 12, 2013 at 10:07 pm

    Beautiful quotes and love the photo in the far right hand corner with the lights. I have to say I find the photos of this year’s 19 days quite interesting! Very different from previous years.

  2. Farida Ciotti said, on March 13, 2013 at 1:02 am

    Wow, breath taking!
    Both quotations and photos are so beautiful and infused with soul! Thank you both for sharing glimpses of your blessed fast with us 🙂

    • Mary said, on March 13, 2013 at 8:00 pm

      Totally agree!

  3. Fiona said, on March 13, 2013 at 7:36 am

    Such diverse visual perspectives from such diverse places.

  4. Naeem said, on March 13, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    Zach & Alison–your photos are stunning!

  5. Della V. said, on March 13, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    Zach, your photos get me so excited to visit that part of the world – which I will be in August! And Alison, how I wish I could visit the temple in Uganda. You’re so lucky to be there during this time. Gorgeous photos guys.

  6. Lillian said, on March 14, 2013 at 8:46 am

    These photos have so much spiritual meaning for me – memories of the time we spent in the shadow of the Ugandan temple are brought back poignantly; and the pure beauty of entering into the ether at dawn and the lights calling us all home at sunset. My heartfelt thanks to both photographers.

  7. Bobby The Aazami said, on March 14, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    ooooohlala


Leave a Reply

