nineteen days

day fourteen

Posted in day fourteen, the fast - 2013 by leila on March 15, 2013

“Thou hast endowed every hour of these days with a special virtue, inscrutable to all except Thee, Whose knowledge embraceth all created things. Thou hast, also, assigned unto every soul a portion of this virtue in accordance with the Tablet of Thy decree and the Scriptures of Thine irrevocable judgment.

Baháulláh

“Say: O my Lord, my Best-Beloved, the Mover of my actions, the Lode Star of my soul, the Voice that crieth in mine inmost being, the Object of mine heart’s adoration! Praise be to Thee for having enabled me to turn my face towards Thee, for having set my soul ablaze through remembrance of Thee, for having aided Me to proclaim Thy Name and to sing Thy praises.

Baháulláh

GLENN-DAWNElliott 15-03-2013 DawnGLENN-DUSKElliott 15-03-2013 Dusk

glenn loe risage/left (japan): This life is the training ground for our soul. So for every tests and trials we encounter we should persevere to endure them. For each test brings with it a special virtue.

elliott vreeland/right (mt. helen, vic, australia): Today I reflected on how the Fast is much like the physical actions we carry out during certain prayers. The first time I said the Long Obligatory Prayer, as I prostrated, stood with my arms raised, and so on, it all felt a bit strange. Despite my privacy I felt self-conscious. Now I understand that as we carry out these actions, we are called to ask ourselves if we feel the same love and humility that we are outwardly expressing. I feel that the nineteen day Fast continually causes us to ask this same question, but in a more in-depth, long term sort of way. This is a blessing.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. samimi said, on March 16, 2013 at 3:10 am

    adore both of these, you two. thanks so much for your beautiful contributions!


Leave a Reply

