nineteen days

day fifteen

Posted in day fifteen, the fast - 2013 by amysahba on March 17, 2013

“Lauded be Thy name, O my God! I am so carried away by the breezes blowing from Thy presence that I have forgotten my self and all that I possess. This is but a sign of the wonders of Thy grace and bountiful favors vouchsafed unto me. I give praise to Thee, O my God, that Thou hast chosen me out of all Thy creatures, and made me to be the Day-Spring of Thy strength and the Manifestation of Thy might, and empowered me to reveal such of Thy signs and such tokens of Thy majesty and power as none, whether in Thy heaven or on Thy earth, can produce. I beseech Thee, O my Lord, by Thy most effulgent Name, to acquaint my people with the things Thou didst destine for them. Do Thou, then, preserve them within the stronghold of Thy guardianship and the tabernacle of Thine unerring protection, lest through them may appear what will divide Thy servants. Assemble them, O my Lord, on the shores of this Ocean, every drop of which proclaimeth Thee to be God, besides Whom there is none other God, the All-Glorious, the All-Wise. Uncover before them, O my Lord, the majesty of Thy Cause, lest they be led to doubt Thy sovereignty and the power of Thy might. I swear by Thy glory, O Thou Who art the Beloved of the worlds! Had they been aware of Thy power they would of a certainty have refused to utter what Thou didst not ordain for them in the heaven of Thy will. Inspire them, O my Lord, with a sense of their own powerlessness before Him Who is the Manifestation of Thy Self, and teach them to recognize the poverty of their own nature in the face of the manifold tokens of Thy self-sufficiency and riches, that they may gather together round Thy Cause, and cling to the hem of Thy mercy, and cleave to the cord of the good-pleasure of Thy will. Thou art the Lord of the worlds, and of all those who show mercy, art the Most Merciful.”

Baháulláh

“It behoves each one of you to manifest the attributes of God, and to exemplify by your deeds and words the signs of His righteousness, His power and glory. The very members of your body must bear witness to the loftiness of your purpose, the integrity of your life, the reality of your faith, and the exalted character of your devotion.

The Báb

mauricio_dawnleili_egea_dawnmauricio_duskleili_egea_dusk

mauricio dumet/left (atlanta, ga, usa):  This year the Fast has been so difficult for me! Catching up with this fast paced -always on the run- lifestyle with extremely busy day to day activities and projects that can’t be put on hold, I find myself not being able to slow down nor get in the correct mind set. I can actually feel it has taken away from my focus on this special time and instead of using my usual lunchtime to go for a walk or take a break and reflect, I find myself trying to catch up on work or maybe fitting a short nap to recover from pulling all-nighters too often. When I do find the time, I dream about Haifa, reflect on what has happened this past year and I feel lucky and I am grateful for my family and try to open my heart to what’s to come.

leili egea/right (haifa, israel): As the end of this special period approaches, I feel a mixture of uncertainty and anticipation for the year ahead. Perhaps  the rest of the year will not be so intense, so focused and so inspiring; but thanks to the Fast it will be a little better, a little easier to move toward the standard that we have been called to reach.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kit Bigelow said, on March 17, 2013 at 9:54 am

    I’ve been deeply moved by the honesty and transparency of each person’s post during this year’s “nineteen days.”
    Thank you to both of you today for your contributions!

  2. Mary said, on March 17, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    The photographs are exquisite. Mauricio, I love the sepia tones in your dawn photograph. Both quotes are awesome. Thank you for your sharing your struggles and uncertainty. I find that those, too, are often part of my Fast.

  3. Patricia Dumet said, on March 18, 2013 at 9:01 am

    Fast is such a special period. We all deal with similar struggles, but at the same time we can always find time to reflect and specially to thank God for all His blessings. Thanks to Mauricio and Leili for sharing such beautiful pictures and quotes. You both have had the privilege of being in Haifa.. that is a great blessing.


Leave a Reply

