nineteen days

day two

Posted in day two, the fast - 2014 by leila on March 3, 2014

Be thou strong and firm. Be thou resolute and steadfast. When the tree is firmly rooted, it will bear fruit. Therefore, it is not permitted to be agitated by any test. Be thou not disheartened. Be thou not discouraged. The trials of God are many, but if man remains firm and steadfast, test itself is a stepping stone for the progress of humanity.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

O Thou Who art the Lord of all names and the Maker of the heavens! I beseech Thee by them Who are the Day-Springs of Thine invisible Essence, the Most Exalted, the All-Glorious, to make of my prayer a fire that will burn away the veils which have shut me out from Thy beauty, and a light that will lead me unto the ocean of Thy Presence.

Baháu’lláh

morning_1LindseyLugschTehledawnevening_2LindseyLugschTehledusk 

brianna baggett/left (brooklyn, usa): 

Letting go of my every complaint, my sadness and my impatience. 
Releasing the tension and anxiety.
Embracing my tests. 
Drinking in words of comfort. 
Breathing in the light.

Staying ever-present in this moment.

lindsey lugsch-tehle/right (haifa, israel): It’s hard to believe that this time last year my husband and I were preparing to relocate to the Holy Land to serve this Cause.  And now, having spent nearly one year here, I can’t help but feel abundantly blessed to have the opportunity to offer prayers at the Threshold during this season of purification and rejuvenation.  May we all be led to the ocean of His Presence by the light and the fire that is prayer.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mahfar said, on March 3, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    Beautiful quotes… beautiful thoughts… beautiful images… a beautiful day 2! Thank you Brianna and Lindsey.

  2. Iain Simmons said, on March 3, 2014 at 10:50 pm

    Those double exposures are awesome!

    And as someone who spent the first year of my marriage at the Baha’i World Centre, I can definitely relate to (and appreciate) Lindsey’s sentiments!

  3. Mona mossayeb said, on March 3, 2014 at 11:32 pm

    Lindsey – love this, love you!

  4. layzer said, on March 4, 2014 at 3:04 am

    Bri > phenomenal dbl exps!!! i’m loving those lately. and yours, are so real. Lindsey > i love your shots, the dusk one is perfect. xoxo

  5. leila said, on March 4, 2014 at 9:46 am

    the way that these photos shadow each other reminds me of “thou art My lamp and My light is in thee”.

  6. PJ said, on March 4, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    Really enjoyed everything about today’s posts. Brianna, your reflection was just what I needed to read today. Thank you.

  7. Margaret said, on March 4, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    beautiful posts, thank you all

  8. Victor said, on March 6, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    my head is spinning. these area awesome photos!


Leave a Reply

