nineteen days

day fifteen

Posted in day fifteen, the fast - 2014 by leila on March 16, 2014

“O MY FRIENDS! Have ye forgotten that true and radiant morn, when in those hallowed and blessed surroundings ye were all gathered in My presence beneath the shade of the tree of life, which is planted in the all-glorious paradise?”

Bahá’u’lláh

“I pray that God in His mercy may illumine your hearts and souls with His glorious Light, then shall each one of you shine as a radiant star in the dark places of the world.”

Abdul-Bahá

LeiliTowfigh19Days2014DawnProcessed with VSCOcam with p5 presetLeiliTowfigh19Days2014DuskProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

leili towfigh/left (boston, usa): This morning I went out in the frigid navy blue to take photos at dawn. While walking to the shore of the lake, I was delighted to spy a red-tailed hawk overhead soaring with occasional heavy wingbeats. I could hear them flap. Although at first I could see no evidence of it, the sun was just peeking gold over the top of the hill behind my back. I realized this when I noticed the only thing that it lit: the hawk, shining yellow, high against the grey winter top branches and sky. I could not photograph it in time, so I thought I would photograph that image in words: golden, majestic bird, alight with the promise of the morning.

naeem ghafari/right (toronto, canada): Break free.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. leili said, on March 17, 2014 at 1:50 pm

    I like the echoing in the grid of your dawn and my dusk, Naeem. Thank you, Amy and Leila!

  2. Kadria said, on March 17, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    I love the shadows in the stairs picture, Leili! And Naeem, the gridlock and bowl are a nice contrast – love the fish looking up at you!

    • leili said, on March 17, 2014 at 9:19 pm

      Ha ha, yes, Kadria, the fish are all, “Hey what up Naeem?”

  3. Mary said, on March 17, 2014 at 9:00 pm

    Thank you for that beautiful description, Leili — and the radiant tree!

    • leili said, on March 17, 2014 at 9:21 pm

      Oh, thank you so much, Mary! I cannot figure out why the inside of the tree is lit up but the branches closer to us are not. It was an odd lighting effect, like the light was coming from inside the tree…


Leave a Reply

