nineteen days

day ten

Posted in day ten, the fast - 2014 by leila on March 11, 2014

Fasting is the cause of awakening man. The heart becomes tender and the spirituality of man increases.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

“Although the kingdom of heaven is hidden from the sight of this unwitting people, still, to him who seeth with the inner eye, it is plain as day. Wherefore dwell thou ever in the kingdom and be thou oblivious of the world below. Be thou so wholly absorbed in the emanations of the spirit that nothing in the world of man will distract thee.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

negeen_dawn_11march2014IMG_1877 negeen_dusk_11march2014Sunset

negeen sobhani/left (oklahoma city, usa): The Fast has become a scale which measures the imbalances in my life. As a young mom, it wouldn’t make me hungry or thirsty, but rather very tired. It showed me how much I needed to slow down and take the time to rest my body. These days, I don’t feel hungry, thirsty or tired—but rather unable to focus. With so much swarming in my mind, this Fast beckons me to release what’s occupying my mind, clear it with the same hollowness that’s in my stomach and let it be a receptacle for new prayerfully-inspired thoughts and perspectives.

brianna butler/right (nyc, usa):My mind often jumps to a music as inspiration/motivation through my day! This section of the song Let Go by Frou Frou felt particularly poignant today:

So let go (so let go), jump in
Oh well, whatcha waiting for?
It’s alright
’Cause there’s beauty in the breakdown
So let go (yeah let go), just get in
Oh, it’s so amazing here
It’s alright
’Cause there’s beauty in the breakdown

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sjonabro said, on March 12, 2014 at 4:27 am

    these are wonderful! my favorite things a) in Negeens photos the mirroring of the lights, and b) in Brianna’s the amazing parallelness (new word) of the airplane tracks in both photos!


Leave a comment