nineteen days

day three

Posted in day three, the fast - 2014 by leila on March 4, 2014

Even though outwardly the Fast is difficult and toilsome, yet inwardly it is bounty and tranquility. Purification and training are conditioned and dependent only on such rigorous exercises as are in accord with the Book of God and sanctioned by Divine law, not those which the deluded have inflicted upon the people. Whatsoever God hath revealed is beloved of the soul. We beseech Him that He may graciously assist us to do that which is pleasing and acceptable unto Him.

Baháu’lláh

“I am greatly pleased with the city of New York. Its harbor entrance, its piers, buildings and broad avenues are magnificent and beautiful. Truly, it is a wonderful city. As New York has made such progress in material civilization, I hope that it may also advance spiritually in the Kingdom and Covenant of God so that the friends here may become the cause of the illumination of America, that this city may become the city of love and that the fragrances of God may be spread from this place to all parts of the world.

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

Chad Mauger 4 March 2014 Dawn19Days_RyanLash_Morn_RL5D8390Chad Mauger 4 March 2014 Dusk19Days_RyanLash_Eve_RL5D8461

chad mauger/left (adelaide, australia): Every year the Fast brings new lessons. In just these first few days I have re-examined my relationship with food. It has made me realize why I eat, apart from the basic physical need to do so. I have also experienced firsthand that “outwardly the Fast is difficult and toilsome, yet inwardly it is bounty and tranquility”: while my physical sense of hunger is heightened, my disquiet and anxiety is lessened. For this I am grateful.

ryan lash/right (nyc, usa): I constantly have to remind myself of the significance of this city that is now my home, the city of the Covenant. This morning, watching the sun light up the buildings from across the river was a good reminder. So far fasting this year has been a bit surreal as I’ve been so busy that I hardly notice that I haven’t eaten all day, which I suppose isn’t exactly the point of the fast now is it? But until the rest of the world gets on board with our schedule I guess that’s the way it’s going to be sometimes.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Paula van den Boogaart said, on March 5, 2014 at 4:53 am

    It is such a bounty to have this opportunity of sharing one’s personal experiences during the blessed Fast with the friends from the four corners of the earth. Every year I look forward to the Fast and every year I have the same “concerns” how I will make it through the fasting period. Among my most memorable fasting experiences are those when I could share the Fast with others. Once while a student in Hawaii another Baha’i and I were invited to attend the Bible study class on campus .. and we went. The outcome of our participation was the acceptance of the Faith by an entire hawaiian family. Another memorable Fast was during in assignment in Afghanistan when I moved in with a pioneer family as there was no way to get any food so early in the guesthouse I stayed. I remember how were meeting in the dark kitchen (electricity was off again) searching for the food and being in the dark kitchen together in struggling with the environmental constraints. Another wonderful experience was during an assignment in Indonesia. I stayed a few days with a Baha’i family with 5 young boys. The rice cooker was always there on the kitchen counter … turned on so the rice would stay warm. We knew a good heap of rice would get us through the day. In all those different circumstances, it was the prayers we offered together which made each day of the Fast a heavenly experience. Now that I am living in Germany in a “comfortable” environment with running water, electricity, supermarkets and a functioning refrigerator .. the Fast is again a different experience. Fasting seems more difficult in this environment, I think it is mainly because I can’t share the spirit of fasting with other friends, everybody seems so busy with the challenges of daily working. So truly, it is wonderful to “log into” the fasting experiences of you .. have a blessed Fast.

    • Dianne said, on March 5, 2014 at 7:04 am

      What a lovely comment. Thank you for sharing Paula. And lovely photos… It’s beautiful to see the same colors in such very distant parts of the world… same hues, same feeling, same fast – together in so many different spots and circumstances on the globe.


Leave a comment