nineteen days

day sixteen

Posted in day sixteen, the fast - 2014 by leila on March 17, 2014

“O SON OF LIGHT! Forget all save Me and commune with My spirit. This is of the essence of My command, therefore turn unto it.”

Bahá’u’lláh

Thou seest me, O my God, holding to Thy Name, the Most Holy, the Most Luminous, the Most Mighty, the Most Great, the Most Exalted, the Most Glorious, and clinging to the hem of the robe to which have clung all in this world and in the world to come.

Bahá’u’lláh

dawn-golrizimage dusk-golrizimage(1)

golriz lucina/left (los angeles, usa): Our day began with an earthquake and ended with a full moon.

And in between, I am pretty sure I felt all the feelings that a mother can have. That exhausting push and pull between wanting tomorrow to come sooner, and mourning that today is already over.

And yes, I outsourced my dawn photo to my husband.  Because … sleep.

 

shamsi rock/right (wellington, new zealand):  This time of year reminds me so much of my Mum, she always approached the Fast with humility, gratitude, grace, and humour.

When I was old enough to start fasting, I couldn’t believe how hard it was. But had seen how much my mum loved each moment of it, and because of that example, each year it became a little easier for me. That’s not to say that I don’t struggle, but as I get older, as the Fast approaches, I find it is as if I am approaching an oasis in the desert. I am so mindful of the example my mother showed me, and the example I show for my own kids especially on those days when I am struggling.

This year I am dedicating my Fast to my mother, to my mother in law, and to the many amazing women in my life who live their lives as an example of grace and fortitude every day.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 19rihat said, on March 18, 2014 at 12:47 am

    Hello dear Shamsi, Allah’u’Abha,
    I enjoyed your words very much and you gave me the perfect expression of how I feel during the Fast this year

    “approaching an oasis in the desert”, exactly. I will look forward to the next Fast as approaching this oasis in the desert again for 19 days

    With loving Baha’i greetings from Germany and wonderful remaining dasy of this Fast

    • Shamsi said, on March 18, 2014 at 4:10 am

      Thank you! It’s so wonderful to be sharing the same experience with friends and strangers alike from all around the world. 🙂

  2. leili said, on March 18, 2014 at 9:14 am

    I too love the idea of the Fast as approaching an oasis in a desert. Thank you, Shamsi!

    And sweet Gol, the photo of you three at dawn touched my heart.

  3. ladan SoltaniZhang said, on March 19, 2014 at 8:01 pm

    Good morning,
    Could you kindly please add me to this list. I would love to receive these daily.
    Many thanks,
    Ladan SoltaniZhang
    +65 9021 5290
    Singapore


Leave a comment