nineteen days

day nineteen

Posted in the fast - 2010 by leila on March 21, 2010

“O God! Refresh and gladden my spirit. Purify my heart. Illumine my powers. I lay all my affairs in Thy hand. Thou art my Guide and my Refuge. I will no longer be sorrowful and grieved; I will be a happy and joyful being. O God! I will no longer be full of anxiety, nor will I let trouble harass me. I will not dwell on the unpleasant things of life.

O God! Thou art more friend to me than I am to myself. I dedicate myself to Thee, O Lord.”

‘Abdu’l-Bahá

amy (brooklyn, u.s.a.) left: I marvel at how rapidly this time has come and gone again. I find myself easily recognizing and falling into the pattern of the Fast, the mood, the tone, the rhythm it evokes. It is an ever quiet time, muted, life happening around me and I, usually a full, active participant, content to observe it and absorb it. As if it is my life, but seen through someone else’s eyes. And all along I know that this is just a preparation. A time to gather my energies, to gear up and be ready to burst into the glorious, colorful, bold joyousness that this New Year brings.

Those flowers are for you, from me. You know who you are: you, who contributed, visited, shared, encouraged and loved this project. Thank you.

leila (boulder, u.s.a.) right: I have been reading everyone’s words, gazing at their photographs, and absorbed in the Writings that they have chosen to share with us: by turns groaning with empathy, joyfully thrilling, and awed.  And all the while I have been eating. For the past two Fasts I have been breastfeeding my daughter, an effort that makes me so ravenous that I haven’t even tried to be tactful about sating the hunger in front of my (long-suffering) fasting husband. Every year at this time I am reminded above all to rely upon God, to trust wholly in Him. Far too often in recent years I have spent anxious insomniac nights enumerating all the ways in the world in which I am inadequate. Now, perhaps this is just plain old vanilla-flavoured neuroticism, but I do have the option of asking ‘Abdu’l-Bahá to take over the anxiety so that I can sleep for a bit: Who better to continue a list of my faults? So this is my prayer, it as often as I can remember: “Thy name is my healing, O my God, and remembrance of Thee is my remedy”.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. leila said, on March 21, 2010 at 12:38 am

    Amy, you blow my mind. MIND x MINE = BLOWN.

  2. Sarah said, on March 21, 2010 at 12:45 am

    Whoa, you girls, how in sync are you? Your photographs are stunning, a perfect ending to the dawns and dusks of the Fast. Your reflections are so full of warmth and poetry, just as you are-my eyes well with tears of love for you both.

  3. samimi-extremie said, on March 21, 2010 at 12:53 am

    oh you two, how sweet and tender your reflections are, i was really touched by them. amy: your flowers- what a BEAUTIFUL act of you to “give” all of those who participated this blissful gift!

    leila, thank you for being so open and candid about your life, esp. during this time. i am so happy that this project has been a place that invites and welcomes such sentiments.

    i love you both dearly and thank you from the bottom of my happy and content heart that you spearheaded such a rich and spiritually supportive endeavor!!

    GREAT PHOTOS, TOO, BTW. 🙂

  4. Sholeh said, on March 21, 2010 at 2:28 am

    I. love. these. photos.

  5. amysahba said, on March 21, 2010 at 9:48 am

    leila JOON! there is so much joy in your photos. thank you for being the most wonderful photography partner ever.

  6. noosh. said, on March 21, 2010 at 10:10 am

    what a wonderful selection- happy Naw-Ruz and thank you for another amazing collection of reflections!

  7. kat said, on March 21, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    such beautiful colours and honest reflections! amy, the flowers are very touching. thank you BOTH for starting this project and having us all involved. what a blessing.

  8. Rochelle said, on March 21, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Thank you for this great site, I remembered it from last year.
    Very uplifting and a wonderful way to unite us all worldwide.
    Happy Naw-Ruz to all involved.

  9. linda said, on March 22, 2010 at 5:59 am

    Really this adventure throughout these 19 days has been glorious, surprising and breathaking! Thank you for this masterpiece. We look forward to receiving your Book which will serve to remind us of these past few days when we were priveliged to enter into this sacred realm and be uplifted by such hours and days.
    With love, admiration and gratitude,
    Linda

  10. shirin s. said, on March 22, 2010 at 11:06 am

    You gals are AMAZING!!! I love you both so much & your photos were truly spectacular….& look how stunning your set is together?? great minds think alike! so much love from beijing!

  11. Rebekah said, on March 22, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Gorgeous photos! The daffodils are beautiful, Amy!


Leave a comment